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Application for New D-5I Alcoholic Beverage Permit 

Ohio Revised Code 4303.181(I) 

READ BEFORE YOU START YOUR APPLICATION 

For your application to be deemed complete, you must fully and legibly complete this application, including: 

• Answering all required questions (“*” indicates a required field);

• Paying all the required fees listed below; and

• Submitting any additional required forms listed below.

SECTION A – Fees due at the time of submission or application will be returned (make checks payable to Treasurer, 
State of Ohio) 

• $100 Non-Refundable PROCESSING FEE

• $2,344 D-5I Permit Fee

Total due at time of submission = $2,444 

Do you want a D-6 permit (Sunday sales of wine & mixed 

beverages) with the D-5I? 

☐ YES ☐ NO If YES, D-6 fee = $500 

If YES, total due at time of submission = $2,944 

SECTION B – Applicant Contact Information 

* Business Entity as listed with the Secretary of State or Sole Proprietor Name (“Applicant”):

* Type of Business Entity (☐ N/A – Entity was created by state law – provide statute reference ______________________):

☐ Corporation – Ohio Secretary of State Charter #

☐ Limited Liability Company (LLC) – Ohio Secretary of State Charter #

☐ Non-Profit – Ohio Secretary of State Charter #

☐ Partnership – Ohio Secretary of State Charter #   (NOTE: MUST be US Citizens & over the age of 21) 

☐ Sole Proprietor (Individual) – Last 4 digits of SSN:  (NOTE: MUST be a US Citizen & over the age of 21) 

DBA (Doing Business As): 

* Permit Premises   Address (consult with county auditor websites):

* Township (if premises is outside city limits): * City * Zip Code: * County:

* Contact Name: * Who will be the Primary Contact for this Application:

☐ Contact Listed ☐ Attorney Listed Below

* Phone Number: * Business Phone Number:

* Applicant Email Address:

* Alternate Mailing Address, City, State, Zip (must be different than the permit premises address):

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
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Attorney Information (if applicable) Name: 

Address: City: State: Zip Code: Phone #: 

Attorney Email Address: 

SECTION C – Questions for D-5I Permit Applicants (documents may be needed to verify answers during our review) 

1. *Is the permit premises located in a municipal corporation or a township with a population of 100,000 or less?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If NO, STOP. Applicant does not qualify according to R.C. 4303.181. 

2. *Will or does the inside seating capacity at the permit premises accommodate at least 140 people?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If NO, STOP. Applicant does not qualify according to R.C. 4303.181. 

3. *Will or does the floor area at the permit premises cover at least 4,000 square feet?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If NO, STOP. Applicant does not qualify according to R.C. 4303.181. 

4. *Will or does the permit premises offer full-course meals, appetizers, and sandwiches?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If NO, STOP. Applicant does not qualify according to R.C. 4303.181. 

5. *Will the permit premises’ receipts from beer and liquor sales, excluding wine sales, be less than 25% of its total gross
receipts?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If NO, STOP. Applicant does not qualify according to R.C. 4303.181. 

6. *Which one of the following applies:

☐ Will or does the value of the real and personal property exceed $725,000?

☐ Is or will the permit premises be located on property owned/leased by the state or a state agency, and its

owner/operator has authorization from the state or the state agency that owns or leases the property to obtain a D-5I
permit?

If neither applies, STOP. Applicant does not qualify according to R.C. 4303.181. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
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SECTION D – Wet/Dry (Local Option) Questions 

The applied-for permit premises address must be voted “WET” for the permit type requested. If the applied for permit 
premises address is “DRY,” select how you want us to proceed with your application (choose one): 
 

☐ CANCEL the application and REFUND any submitted permit fee(s).  

☐ RETAIN the application on file with us and REFUND any submitted permit fee(s).  

☐ RETAIN the application on file with us and RETAIN any submitted permit fee(s). 

 
If your applied-for location is “DRY” and you intend to put a question on the ballot to get your address voted “Wet” in the next 
election, the Division recommends you choose to leave your application and fees on file (i.e., RETAIN). Any questions 
regarding local option elections should be directed to your County Board of Elections or your personal attorney. 
 
NOTE: If you fail to check one of the items above, the Division will CANCEL your application and REFUND any submitted 
permit fee(s). 

 

SECTION E – Questions for D-6 Permit Applicants (only complete if applying for a D-6 Permit) 

1. The applied-for permit premises address must be locally voted “WET” for Sunday Sales (D-6 permit). If the permit 
premises address is “DRY” for Sunday Sales, select how you want us to proceed with your application (choose one):  
 

☐ CANCEL the D-6 portion of this application and REFUND your $500; 

☐ RETAIN your D-6 application on a waiting list and REFUND your $500; or 

☐ RETAIN your D-6 application on a waiting list and RETAIN your $500.  
 

If the local vote for Sunday Sales is “DRY” and you intend to put a question on the ballot to get your address voted “Wet” 
in the next election, the Division recommends you choose to leave your application and fees on file (i.e., RETAIN). Any 
questions regarding local option elections should be directed to your County Board of Elections or your personal attorney. 
 
NOTE: If you fail to check one of the items above, the Division will CANCEL your D-6 permit request and REFUND your 
$500. 
 

2. If you have or applied for on-premises consumption and we determine the D-6 permit is restricted for carryout sales only, 
do you still want the Division to process your D-6 permit application?   

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
3. Will or does the sale of food and/or other goods and services be more than/exceed 50% of your total gross receipts?   

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 

SECTION F – General Questions 

NOTE: For purposes of Section F, questions 1 through 4 below, a significant stakeholder includes: 

• Partner(s) in the business entity • Managing Member(s) • 5% or more voting interest holder(s) in an LLC  

• Office Holder(s) • 5% or more member(s) • Manager of the permit premises 

• 5% or more shareholder(s) • Spouse  

 
1. *Does the applicant in Section B or any significant stakeholder hold or have any interest in another liquor permit 

business currently or previously issued?   

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If YES, provide the permit #(s) & business address(es):          
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2. *Has the applicant in Section B (whether a business or sole proprietor) or any significant stakeholder ever been 
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor crime, including any alcohol-related offenses, in Ohio or any other state? NOTE: 
You should disclose a conviction even if you think it was minor or that it happened long ago. 

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If YES, provide the company or individual’s name with an explanation that includes the when, where, what, and result of 
the offense (if needed, you can provide a written statement on an additional sheet of paper):      

                
 
3. *Has the applicant in Section B or any significant stakeholder ever been refused a permit, denied a renewal, or had a 

permit revoked by this Division or the Liquor Control Commission?   

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If YES, provide the stakeholder’s name and a detailed explanation:          

                
 

4. *Will the spouse of a significant stakeholder (except the on-premises manager’s spouse) work on the permit premises? 

☐ YES    ☐ NO   

 
If YES, list the spouse(s) names __________________________________________________________________ 
Each working spouse MUST submit a Personal History Background Form-DLC 4121 with this application and complete a 
BCI background check before the permit can be issued. 

 
5. *Does the applicant in Section B or anyone else who has an interest in the ownership or operation of this business, 

whether disclosed or not, own any stock or have any interest in the business of an Ohio alcohol manufacturer or 
wholesale distributor of alcoholic beverages?  

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If YES, please give a detailed explanation, including permit #’s:          

                
 

6. *Does applicant in Section B own the real estate on which the proposed business will be located?  

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If NO, submit a Summary of Tenancy Rights Form (DLC 4085) when available. 
 

7. *Will the applicant in Section B be the sole owner of the business?   

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If NO, please give a detailed explanation:             

                
 

8. *Will the applicant in Section B be the sole owner of the equipment used at the business (e.g., taps, coolers, etc.)?  

☐ YES    ☐ NO 

 
If NO, please give a detailed explanation:             

                
 
 
 
 
 

https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/personal-history-background-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/new-permit-info/guides-and-resources/background-check-process
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/summary-of-tenancy-rights-form
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9. *Will any person, partnership, LLC, or corporation, excluding banks or building and loan associations, have ANY financial
interest (such as money, loans, installment contracts, property, or other interest) or share in the profits in the business or
the property, real or personal?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If YES, please give a detailed explanation: 

10. *If a new applicant, has the applicant in Section B been open and operating at the permit premises at least 6 months prior
to filing this application?

☐ YES    ☐ NO ☐ N/A – applicant is a current permit holder adding a new permit type(s) or master file.

If NO, please provide the amount of money used/spent to get your business set-up $ . You are required 
to provide financial information documenting the source of these funds (refer to the Financial Verification Guide 
(DLC4096) for guidance on what documentation you can use to verify your funds).   

11. *Will or does the permit premises have 2 restrooms?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If NO, please give a detailed explanation: 

12. *Will or does the permit premises have a Food Service License (“FSO”) or Food Establishment License (“FE”) issued in
the name of the Applicant?

☐ YES    ☐ NO

If YES, submit a copy of the FSO or FE License when available. 

If NO, please give a detailed explanation:  

SECTION G – Required Information for application to be deemed complete or the application WILL BE RETURNED 

1. ☐ Meet the statutory requirements for the applied permit (see Ohio Revised Code 4303.181(I)).

2. ☐ Submit the non-refundable $100 application processing fee.

3. ☐ Submit the applicable permit fee(s) (see Section A above) and ensure the:

• payment is by check or money order (NO CASH) and made payable to "Treasurer, State of Ohio"

• payment is signed,

• numeric amount listed matches the written amount, and

• applicant listed in Section B is in the memo line (if different than contact information printed on payment).

4. ☐ Submit this application (answer ALL questions, including any requested applicant business information).

5. ☐ Submit Personal History Background Form(s) (DLC 4121) (PHBF) (complete top portion only) for ALL required

individuals.
For a list of individuals required to complete a PHBF and an Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation fingerprint 
webcheck, see the Background Check Process “Persons Required to Get Both Background Checks”. While an Ohio 
Bureau of Criminal Investigation fingerprint webcheck is not required at the time of application submission, it is 
strongly encouraged. 

https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/financial-verification-worksheet-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/financial-verification-worksheet-form
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.181
https://com.ohio.gov/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/personal-history-background-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/new-permit-info/guides-and-resources/background-check-process
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6. Submit Entity Disclosure Form based on entity type:

☐ Corporation – Officer/Shareholder Disclosure Form (DLC 4030)

☐ LLC – LLC Membership Disclosure Form (DLC 4032)

☐ Non-Profit Entity – Non-Profit Entity Form (DLC 4029)

☐ Partnership – Partnership Disclosure Form (DLC 4031)

☐ Sole Proprietor – N/A

7. Submit confirmation of Ohio Secretary of State Filing (web print outs are acceptable) based on entity type:

☐ Corporation – Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of Authority to Do Business in Ohio

☐ LLC – Certificate of Organization or Certificate of Authority to Do Business in Ohio

☐ Non-Profit Entity – Certificate of Continued Existence or Certificate of Authority to Do Business in Ohio

☐ Partnership – Certificate of Good Standing, Fictitious Name or Authority to Do Business in Ohio

☐ N/A – Applicant is a Sole Proprietor or an organization created by state law

8. ☐ If the Entity Type in Section B above is a Partnership, submit a signed copy of the Partnership Agreement.

☐ N/A

9. ☐ Executed Power of Attorney Agreement (must submit an executed power of attorney if you are signing this document

on behalf of another person or company).

☐ N/A ☐ N/A – Already on File

SECTION H – MUST BE COMPLETED 

*CERTIFICATION OF FORM – Note, this signing person must be listed on the entity disclosure form, if required (see Section
G, Items #6 above) or you provided an executed power of attorney with this application.

By signing below, I certify and understand that: 
• I have authority to execute this document.

• The information provided is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.

• Failing to select an option for Section D & E #1 above confirms that if the permit premises is “DRY”, I want my
application request to be cancelled and fee(s) refunded.

• Failing to complete this application, consistent with the above listed instructions, will result in this application being
returned to me, unprocessed, until a corrected, complete application is received by the Division.

• During the review of this application further documentation or actions may be needed and my failure to timely comply
could delay the processing of my application.

• This permit is subject to Ohio’s wet/dry laws and that governmental entities and institutions as defined in R.C.
4303.26 must be notified and can object to the issuance of the permit.

(Signature of Individual, Partner, Officer, Managing Member, or 5% or more Shareholder or Member) 

    (Please Print Name) (Title) (Date) 

(Street Address, City, State, Zip Code) (Telephone with Area Code) 

Submit the application, fees, and required forms to: 
Ohio Department of Commerce – Division of Liquor Control 
c/o Licensing New & Transfer Section 
6606 Tussing Road 
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9005 

Questions? Go to com.ohio.gov/ineedhelp 
Email fileinquiry@com.ohio.gov 

Call (614) 644-3155 
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. EST 

Sign-up to stay informed at com.ohio.gov/stayinformed 

https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/officer-or-shareholder-disclosure-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/officer-or-shareholder-disclosure-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/limited-liability-disclosure-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/non-profit-entity-disclosure-form
https://com.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/com/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/forms-required-with-applications/partnership-disclosure-form
https://www.ohiosos.gov/
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.26
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4303.26
https://com.ohio.gov/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/renewal-existing-permit-info/guides-and-resources/liquor-guides-and-resources
mailto:fileinquiry@com.ohio.gov
https://com.ohio.gov/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/renewal-existing-permit-info/guides-and-resources/email-lists
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