
               

     The House Bill containing recommendations 
formulated by a task force of the Ohio Real 
Estate Commission (Commission), and adopted 
by the Commission a little over two years ago, 

emerged from the Ohio legislature last week. Although no date has been set yet, the bill will 
become effective 90 days after Gov. Kasich signs it into law. 
     The unanimous passage of Amended House Bill 532 (primary sponsor Rep. Ryan Smith, Bidwell) by the Senate as our 
legislature wrapped up the 131st General Assembly signaled the home stretch for changes to Ohio Revised Code 4735 for 
Ohio’s real estate brokers, salespersons, educators and consumers.

In summary, the legislation:

• Establishes new categories of real estate brokers: principal broker and associate broker.
• Requires each brokerage to designate at least one affiliated broker to act as the brokerage’s principal broker.
• Requires principal brokers to comply with specified duties enumerated in the Ohio Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons 
Law and associated rules.
• Adds pre-licensure and post-licensure education requirements to those already permitted to be completed by distance 
education.
• Requires the pre-licensure education courses to be credit-eligible.
• Provides that successful completion of the education requirements is to be determined by the law in effect on the date the 
course was completed.
• Requires that for noncredit course offerings for real estate salespersons, an institution of higher education must obtain 
approval from the appropriate state authorizing entity prior to offering a course to satisfy the salesperson license education 
requirements.    Continued on page 9..

If you are interested in setting up a real estate company, there are several important factors to consider.  First, every company 
must have a broker.  You do not have to be a broker to set up a real estate company, but you would need to hire an Ohio real 
estate broker to run the company.   That broker must be a member or officer of the LLC or corporation.  If there is only one 
broker in a company and he/she leaves, the company will be made inactive and must re-apply to open the company.

When setting up a real estate company, you must first decide what your business name will be.  To see if your desired name is 
available, you must submit a name reservation form and $10 fee to the Division for the Superintendent’s approval.   This must 
be done prior to filing with the Secretary of State.  If you will have a DBA (doing business as) along with your entity name, both 
will be reviewed and approved by the Superintendent.  Once the name is approved, then you will file it with the Ohio Secretary 
of State’s office.  This is the proper method, and will save you the potential expense of filing it at the Secretary of State’s office 
and then having it denied by the Superintendent.  
Continued on page 6...
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As the state’s chief regulatory 
agency, part of our responsibility 
is to continually look at our pro-
cesses and how we can improve 
how we interact with businesses 
and the public. As part of the up-
coming biennial budget, there are 
several things we are looking to do to improve the service we 
provide through Real Estate and Professional Licensing. 

One area we are focusing on is leveraging technology to meet 
you where you are. Much of your business is online – it’s a 
quick and effective way to reach your clients, especially in an 
industry where time is of the essence. We are working to get 
the transactions you most need online to save you valuable 
time away from your business. Some of the areas we are 
exploring is moving the rest of the license renewal process 
online. Also, we are looking at how to move to online pro-
cesses for transferring companies, reactivating licenses and 
requesting letters of good standing.  Watch for updates on the 
progress of this work. 

We also know that we need to do more to support consum-
ers who are interfacing with cemetery operators who are 
struggling with compliance. While the majority of cemeteries 
operate within regulations and in the best interest of con-
sumers, there are a few that don’t. It is estimated that there 
are more than 120 unregistered cemeteries in the state, and 
this number is growing. Also, there are several non-compli-
ant cemetery operators. At times, these unregistered and 
non-compliant cemeteries aren’t fulfilling prepaid products 
and services, leaving consumers scrambling to secure other 
products, services and funds at a difficult time. We are looking 
to increase the Department’s authority to assist consumers in 
securing the services for which they paid. 

Commerce’s role is to facilitate business, not to impede it. 
I encourage you to let us know how we can help you better 
manage your business.

Mary Ten Eyck Taylor
Mary Ten Eyck Taylor was appointed to the Ohio Real Es-
tate Commission as the public member on July 1, 2014.  Ms. 
Taylor received her law degree from Capital University in 1985 
and also has a background in wealth planning.  In the past, 
she has served as the Deputy Legal Counsel for the Treasurer 
of the State of Ohio.  She currently works in private practice at 
MTE Taylor Law Firm LLC.

Courtney Combs
Hon. Courtney Combs was appointed to the Ohio Real Estate 
Commission on July 1, 2015.  Mr. Combs has built a distin-
guished career in real estate for nearly 50 years.  He has 
served on the Hamilton City Council and is a past president of 
the Hamilton-Fairfield Board of Realtors.  His political experi-
ence also includes 17 years as Butler County Commissioner 
and nine years in the Ohio House of Representatives.  Mr. 
Combs currently works as a broker at Combs Group Realty.  

Steven Rench
Steven Rench was appointed to the Ohio Real Estate Ap-
praiser Board on July 1, 2016.  Mr. Rench graduated from the 
University of Toledo in 1993.  He is a third-generation real 
estate appraiser and has been in the field for nearly 30 years.  
Mr. Rench is a member of the National Association of Insur-
ance and Financial Advisors, and he currently works at Third 
Federal Savings and Loan, where he has served as Chief 
Appraiser since 1999.  
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The Division has received numerous applications that do not 
meet the acceptable appraisal experience requirement.  In 
order to assure that your experience is counted, please follow 
these guidelines closely.

The Division must have on file the Appraiser Assistant and 
Supervisor Notification form listing the appraiser assistant’s 
supervisor(s).  The Division must also have on file the Super-
visor and Trainee course certificate (for new appraiser assis-
tants and supervisors on or after Jan. 1, 2015). The form and 
the education certificate must be on file with the Division prior 
to the beginning of the supervisory period in order to receive 
credit for the experience hours obtained under the superviso-
ry appraiser. If the completed form and education certifi-
cate are not on file with the Division, experience gained 
under the supervisory appraiser will not be counted.

If you provide significant real property appraisal assistance 
for a supervisory appraiser but do not sign the report certifica-
tion, your supervisory appraiser must disclose in the certifica-
tion that you provided significant real property appraisal as-
sistance. In addition, the supervisory appraiser must describe 
the extent of your assistance in the report (refer to the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) 2016-
2017 edition, Standards Rules 2-2, 2-3 and USPAP 2016-2017 
edition, FAQ 250).

Furthermore, the experience log submitted to the Division 
must describe the work performed in support of the hours 
of experience claimed for each assignment. Documentation 
must be provided as part of the state experience verification 
process to support the experience claimed.  This documen-
tation can be in the form of reports, certifications, file memo-
randa, or other evidence that the time spent on the appraisal 
process is compliant with USPAP.  See Ohio Administrative 
Code 1301:11-3-04(E) and (F) for more information on accept-
able appraisal experience.

Last year, the Cable Section was moved from the Depart-
ment’s Administrative Division to the Division of Real Estate 
& Professional Licensing.  The Cable Section (also known as 
the Video Service Authorization Section) has been around 
since 2007 when the cable franchise law was changed by the 
Ohio General Assembly.  In the past, each local community 
would enter into a franchise agreement with each cable com-
pany. In 2007, the law changed and the Director of Commerce 
became the franchising authority in the state of Ohio. 

The Director has issued authorizations to 53 cable companies 
like Time Warner, Comcast and AT&T, and has jurisdiction 
over most of the state including all the major metropolitan 
areas.  

In 2008, the Cable Section established the Cable TV Con-
sumer Hotline (1-877-207-2225), which has received more 
than 10,000 consumer complaints concerning billing disputes, 
poor picture quality, equipment malfunctions, and problems 
with the emergency alert announcements. The Cable Section 
encourages all Ohioans who have been unable to resolve 
a problem with their cable television provider (not including 
satellite television providers) to contact the hotline or send an 
email to VSA@com.state.oh.us.

Continued on page 9....

John R. Kasich, Governor 
State of Ohio

Jacqueline T. Williams, Director 
Ohio Department of Commerce

Anne M. Petit, Superintendent
Real Estate & Professional Licensing

Acceptable Appraisal 
Experience

Ohio Department of Commerce, 
Division of Real Estate &  
Professional Licensing

Division of Real Estate
& Professional Licensing Newsletter

3

Everything you need to 
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newest addition—the     
Cable Section
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Holiday Safety- Tips from the Department of Commerce
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Every day, the Department of Commerce protects Ohioans by helping businesses ensure they’re operating safely, and educating 
consumers about how they can protect what’s most important to them. Our seven divisions work with many businesses and 
industries, including real estate professionals, financial institutions and fire departments.  This holiday season, the Department 
wanted to pass along a few of the safety tips shared with our many stakeholders. This is good information for you to keep in 
mind – these tips can help you keep you and your family safe. This also is good information to share with your clients. You are a 
trusted professional, someone your clients look to for advice. Sharing this information not only helps your clients protect what’s 
most important to them, it strengthens your relationship. 

The Department encourages you to share these tips throughout the holiday season, and into the new year. Have a wonderful 
holiday season, and a joyous 2017! 

Home Fire Safety
For many, winter is a time for cooking and decorating. 

• Practice safe cooking – keep children and pets three feet away from the stove and oven, and avoid wearing loose clothing or 
dangling sleeves while cooking.
• Locate Christmas trees as far away from heat sources as possible. Never place lighted candles on or near the tree, or where 
the tree may fall if knocked over by a pet or child. Live trees should be as fresh as possible – make a fresh cut at the base of 
the trunk, and water it daily. When the tree becomes dry, discard it promptly. 
• Do not block your primary or alternate escape routes with a tree, decorations or presents.
• Purchase lights that bear the label of a nationally recognized testing laboratory, such as Underwriters Laboratories (UL). 
Inspect lights each year, and throw them away if they have frayed or pinched wires.

Elevator and Escalator Safety
The holiday season often includes shopping and traveling, and many malls and airports have escalators, moving walkways and 
elevators. When you’re rushing, it can be easy to overlook safety precautions. Here are some tips for safely navigating elevators, 
escalators and moving walkways:

• Step on and off carefully, and watch your step.
• Face forward on escalators and moving walkways. Hold the handrail, and don’t touch the sides below the handrail.
• People only on escalators and moving walkways – no canes, walkers, strollers or wheeled vehicles (including luggage). Hold 
children or small packages firmly with one hand.
• Leave closing elevator doors alone. If the doors don’t open, ring the alarm button and wait for assistance.

Financial Safety
This time of year, people are busy and distracted, and are in the giving spirit. Some scam artists try to take advantage of this. 
Here are some tips to protect yourself from financial fraud:

• Never give your Social Security number, date of birth or credit card numbers in response to unsolicited email messages or 
cold callers over the phone – no matter how good the sales pitch sounds.
• Don’t make quick investment decisions based on sales pitches that refer to “great deals that will be offered for only a short 
time” or those that offer unreasonable rates of return. 
• Even though the holidays are busy and everyone is pressed for time, investors should find the time to research any 
investment opportunity – and those who offer them – before even considering investing their hard-earned money. Contact the 
Division of Securities’ Investor Protection Hotline at 877-683-7841.
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It’s been taking appraisers longer to get their reports done lately. Have you noticed? In many parts of the country, appraisers 
have simply been flooded with work, so quick turn-times have suffered or vanished. In light of this, I wanted to give some tips 
for working with appraisers during times like these. This is really geared toward appraisals for loans instead of private work 
(divorce, estate, litigation, etc…). 

Tips for working with appraisers when they’re really busy:

1. Turn-times: Sometimes agents say, “We really need the appraisal in three days because that’s when contingencies will 
be removed”. But the appraiser just got the order yesterday and the lender may be giving 7-10 days to complete the file. For 
whatever reason, the appraisal was simply ordered way too late in the loan process (not the appraiser’s fault).

2. Communication 101: If an appraiser emails you, I highly recommend emailing back. The appraiser may be trying to save 
time by avoiding a phone call. Or if an appraiser calls you, just call back (even if you don’t like to use the phone). These days 
it seems like good business etiquette to try to communicate with people in their preferred method. I know that sounds petty 
or even offensive, but it’s true. Obviously, if an appraiser is asking a million questions via email, just email back and say, “I’d 
love to chat, but let’s make this a quick phone conversation instead.”

3. Don’t call incessantly for status: It doesn’t help speed up an appraisal when everyone is asking for status updates. On a 
practical note, keep in mind appraisers don’t owe status updates to anyone but the client.

4. Information up front: Take a few minutes to answer common questions and get this information to the appraiser (prefer-
ably during the inspection). I recommend using my Information Sheet. Sometimes agents wait to share information about 
the property until the value comes in too low. Why not be proactive instead about telling the story of the marketing of the 
property on the front end of the transaction? This just might save time in the transaction too by avoiding challenging a low 
appraisal.

5. Offer a rush fee: If lenders or AMCs are concerned about turn-times, one of the best things to do is offer a reasonable 
fee to begin with AND also a rush fee. Right now, many appraisers are still getting blasted with low-ball appraisal fees from 
AMCs. During such a busy season, appraisers are frankly turning these orders down and gravitating toward working with cli-
ents who pay better fees and are easier to work with too. The truth is some AMCs are spending extra days or weeks search-
ing for an appraiser who will take a lower fee (and then blaming appraisers for taking too long). Remember, a Borrower 
might fork out good money for an appraisal, but how much of the fee is the appraiser actually getting? If you find an AMC is 
scraping way too much off the top, maybe it’s time to do business with a lender or AMC who is actually paying the appraiser 
a reasonable fee. On a related note, it seems like the market is experiencing an upward fee correction since appraisal fees 
have been undercut by AMCs for years.

6. Longer escrows: It can be frustrating that turn-times change because we like to think they’re set in stone or always less 
than a week, but that’s what markets do. I find something similar has happened with contractors locally as many are abso-
lutely swamped. In short, it might not be a good market to promise a 30-day escrow.

7. Do repairs up front: If an appraiser is busy, the same appraiser may also need more time to go back out to the property 
to verify repairs were made. If you know there are obvious repairs, it might be a good idea to have the owner make them in 
advance so you can avoid a re-inspection. If you are concerned about repairs, reach out to a local appraiser or a loan officer 
before the property hits the market so you can maybe glean some wisdom.

8. The little stuff: Some of the most common repairs are actually installation of smoke detectors and carbon monoxide 
alarms (in California). Even if the appraiser doesn’t care about these things since they have nothing to do with value, a lend-
er may be asking the appraiser to verify they are there. As an FYI, it’s been law for five years in California for carbon monox-
ide alarms to be in most residential properties, yet this is still one of the top repair issues.
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Did you know that mediation is available when a written 
complaint is filed against a real estate broker, salesperson or 
appraiser?  

In order for mediation to occur, both the complainant and the 
licensee must agree to mediation in writing.  A trained Division 
mediator will then be assigned to the case.   The mediator is 
a neutral person who is there to help facilitate the discussion 
between the parties without making any judgments.  It is the 
parties, not the mediator, who will make the decisions regard-
ing how the conflict will be resolved.  

When you agree to participate in mediation, you are agreeing 
to take a cooperative approach to resolve any differences 
between you and the complainant.  If a resolution is reached, 
the mediator will prepare an accommodation agreement that 
outlines the terms of the agreement.  The agreement will be 
signed by both parties, which will bind them to the agreed 
upon resolution.  Once the terms of the agreement are satis-
fied, the case will be closed and no formal investigation will be 
conducted.   If an agreement is reached but the terms of the 
agreement are not met, the agreement becomes void and a 
formal investigation may be conducted.  If an agreement is not 
reached during the meeting, the Division will proceed with a 
formal investigation.  

Mediation has many benefits:

• It is completely confidential and voluntary.   
• The Division conducts a majority of mediations over 		
the telephone.    
• A licensee may receive resolution of an investigation 		
that could have resulted in charges against his or her 		
license.
• Mediation is a short process and allows parties to 	
move forward. Formal investigations may take many 
months to resolve.
• It can preserve an ongoing relationship or help the 		
parties part in a more amicable way.

For more information about the mediation process, please 
contact the Division at (614) 466-4100.

Business names may be denied if they are considered 
misleading or are not distinguishable from a name already 
registered with the Division.  It is worth noting that, even if 
you have had an LLC filed with the Secretary of State’s office 
for many years, you may or may not be able to use that name 
for a real estate brokerage.  Please also note that we do not 
allow “REALTORS” in the name you are requesting or to be 
added to a license.  However, you may use the words “Realty” 
or “Real Estate” in your brokerage name.  The Division does 
not license franchises, so if you are affiliated with a franchise, 
all of your filings will be in the name that is approved by the 
Superintendent.  If you are unsure about your name, please 
call the Licensing Section of the Division (614-466-4100) and 
we will be happy to check our database to see if the name is 
already taken.  

Please check our website for the additional forms and paper 
work needed by the Division to set up a real estate company 
in Ohio.  

Settling a complaint 
through mediation

Ohio Department of Commerce, 
Division of Real Estate &  
Professional Licensing

Division of Real Estate
& Professional Licensing Newsletter

Setting up a Real Estate 
Company continued

       
BROKERS:  When signing Sales 

Exam Applications, please review the                 
applications for completeness and    
accuracy.  You must sign and date 

AFTER the applicants to certify that 
you have reviewed and approved the 

form. Incomplete or inaccurate 
applications will be returned to the 

applicant.
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The Division’s Enforcement section is featuring an Advertising Series over the next several newsletters.  Each series will focus 
on specific areas of real estate advertising for which Enforcement commonly receives inquiries. This month’s topic is Team Ad-
vertising.  Sometimes agents work together as a “team” with other agents and non-licensed professionals such as assistants 
in providing services to their clients related to real estate.  These teams will often market themselves together and promote 
themselves in the name of their team. Too often, Enforcement encounters non-compliant team advertising that is misleading to 
the public.  The Division does not license team names, however, all team advertising must be in compliance with Ohio license 
law.

Ohio Administrative Code 1301:5-1-21, which is 
found here, sets forth the requirements that must 
be followed when advertising as a team.  Team 
advertising cannot in any way mislead the public. 
The team itself must consist of at least two active 
real estate licensees who are affiliated with the 
same brokerage.  The team may also consist of 
unlicensed professionals who specialize in real 
estate related fields.  The team name cannot 
include the term “Realty” or “Real Estate.” Team 
names cannot be shared by multiple brokerages.  
A team name should only be affiliated with one 
brokerage, otherwise the public could be misled 
as to the real estate company that the licensed 
team members are actually affiliated with.

Team names such as New Beginnings Team may cause the public to think there is an entity that is actually licensed as New 
Beginnings Team. For this reason, the Division prefers that the licensee’s name is used in the team name. Unlicensed individu-
als are permitted to be on a real estate team, however, they may not engage in activity that requires a real estate license.

All team advertising must:

• Include the name of at least one licensee as it appears on their license;
• Include the name of the brokerage with whom the licensees are affiliated and the brokerage name must be equally 		
prominent with the team name and the name of the salesperson in the advertisement;
• Identify as unlicensed any unlicensed team member whose name is included in the advertisement.
• Provided all of the above are followed, photos of team mem-
bers may be in the advertisement without disclosure of all 	
members in the photo.

Failing to advertise your team as described above is in violation 
of Ohio Revised Code 4735.18(A)(21): “Having published ad-
vertising, whether printed, radio, display, or of any other nature, 
which was misleading or inaccurate in any material particular, 
or in any way having misrepresented any properties, terms, val-
ues, policies, or services of the business conducted.”  The best 
practice is to steer completely clear of all advertising that could 
be misleading to the public.
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After 12 years in Real Estate 
and Professional Licensing,                      

Enforcement Chief Danitra Butler 
has taken on a new role at the 

State Fire Marshal’s Office. We will 
miss her dearly, but wish her the 

best in the next step of her career!
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Q) Can I advertise HUD properties even if I don’t hold the listing?

A) HUD does allow all licensees to market their properties, but you need to make sure that you follow Ohio real estate 
licensing law. The Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 1301:5-1-02 Advertising identifies how a licensee is to handle this issue.  
Specifically, 

1301:5-1-02 (F) - A licensee shall not advertise or alter any information regarding a listing of any property, that is not listed 
for sale, lease, or exchange with the licensee’s broker or brokerage, unless 

	 (1) The licensee has first secured written permission of the owner or the owner’s authorized agent and fully discloses 	
	 in the advertisement the name of the listing broker or brokerage as provided in paragraph (G)(2) of this rule. 
	 (2) Where such permission is granted, a licensee advertising property that is not listed with the licensee’s broker or 	
	 brokerage, shall disclose that fact, in the same or larger size type as the type used to describe the property, and the 	
	 name of the listing broker or brokerage. 
	 (3) For purposes of this division, the term alter shall not include limiting informational parts of a listing, provided that by 	
	 such limitation, the information is not inaccurate or misleading. 

Q) My salesperson transfer/reactivation application was not accepted by the Division because my broker 
signed the form before I completed it. Why does this matter? 
 

A) On the salesperson transfer/reactivation application, there is a statement that certifies that the broker has reviewed the 
salesperson’s application and has found that the applicant is of honest, truthful and good reputation. Signing this prior to the 
applicant completing the application indicates that the broker may not have reviewed it and could open the broker to a crimi-
nal and/or regulatory investigation and possible criminal charges as well as loss of their Ohio broker’s license. 

The Ohio Revised Code 4735.18 (A)(8) states that the Ohio Real Estate Commission may impose disciplinary sanctions 
upon any licensee who is convicted of procuring a license under this chapter, for the licensee or any salesperson by fraud, 
misrepresentation or deceit.

Q) How do I update my home address with the Division? 

A) Licensees are required by law to provide their home address to the Division.  Real estate salespersons and brokers can 
change their home address by logging in to the eLicense Center with their username and password and clicking on “Change 
Address.”  Salespersons and brokers can also fill out the Real Estate Change application form and mail it to the Division.  
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• Increases the post-licensure education requirement for 
a salesperson from 10 to 20 hours and mandates the 
instruction cover certain areas.
• Requires the continuing education requirements for all real 
estate brokers and salespersons acting as a management 
level licensee include a three-hour course on the duties 
of a principal broker and issues involved in operating a 
brokerage.
• Permits the principal broker to assign any of the principal 
broker’s duties to a management level licensee.
• Specifies that a real estate broker can release a client’s 
earnest money from a trust fund or other special account 
if the parties provide a broker with separate written 
instructions signed by both parties.
• Permits the Commission to impose disciplinary sanctions 
on a broker or salesperson who acted as a broker without 
authority or impeded the ability of a principal broker or 
management level licensee in the performance of their 
duties.
• Establishes additional disclosure requirements for 
contemporaneous offers. 
• Provides that a foreign or domestic real estate broker or 
salesperson can be either an employee or an independent 
contractor of a brokerage.

It is important to note that none of these changes can be 
implemented until the law goes into effect, which will be 90 days 
from the date Gov. Kasich puts pen to paper. The Commission 
and Division plan to offer regional **FREE** continuing education 
sessions covering these changes to Ohio licensing law – we’ll 
keep you posted on those offerings. In the meantime, the 
Division staff is already hard at work drafting rules, modifying 
and/or designing forms, assessing necessary licensing system 
modifications and crafting policies and procedures we will need 
in order to fully implement the new law.

The Commissioners and I wish to thank the Task Force members 
and Division staff for all of the work done to accomplish this 
goal. Most especially, Rep. Smith’s commitment to advancing 
the professionalism and education of real estate professionals 
made the successful journey of HB 532 possible. Licensing 
Structure Task Force Members: Terry Hankner, Chair; Dave 
Browning; Gloria Cannon; Jackie Cassara; Dale Coffman; 
Lynn Fruth; AJ Frye; Greg Hrabcak; Pete Kopf; Phillip McBride; 
Tiffany Meyer; John Myers; Suzie Roselius; Craig Scanlon; Jeff 
Soclof; Alasandra Whitley; Peg Ritenour, OAR; Tre’ Giller, OREC 
President; Supt. Anne Petit.

There are two types of complaints that we regularly 
see from new homeowners – disputes over access to 
easements and requests for line extensions.  

• When selecting a new home, buyers should research 
whether they will have access to cable and broadband 
services.  Many buyers have been surprised to learn that a 
provider who offers service in one neighborhood may not offer 
the same services or any service at all in another.  The cable 
law does not require cable companies to provide service to 
every home in its service area.  So it is important for buyers 
who rely on cable and broadband services for work, education 
or leisure to do their research ahead of time.  Sometimes a 
provider will extend a line to the new home; however, costs 
associated with doing so are borne by the homeowner, and 
can sometimes amount to thousands of dollars.

• It is important for a homeowner to understand where the 
utility easement is located on their property and that the 
utility company (cable, telephone, gas, electric or water) 
has the right to access the easement to maintain the lines.  
Sometimes an easement is located on the tree lawn, however, 
the easement may also run the length of a homeowner’s 
back yard, and access to the easement is through a wooden 
fence or over an in-ground pool.  The homeowner must 
allow access to the easement, day or night.  Any damage 
to landscape during the access or maintenance of the lines 
will be fixed by the company, but damage to any residential 
structure (i.e., fences, pools, sheds, etc) will not be restored 
by the company.

Cable Section continued
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Superintendent’s 
Article continued
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Listed below are the Appraiser Disciplinary Actions for May 2014-Present. 
Summaries are also available online. 

Revocations /Surrenders
Jon Faulkner					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Mason
Leroy Richards					     Certified General Appraiser			   Cleveland
	
Suspensions/Fines/Additional Education & Reprimands
Thomas Augspurger				    Certified Residential Appraiser			   Middletown
Sheldon Patrick Estep				    Certified General Appraiser			   Lancaster
Randall Evers					     Licensed Residential Appraiser			   St. Henry
Lynne Ferguson					    Licensed Residential Appraiser			   North Canton
Jon Fleegle					     Certified General Appraiser			   Findlay
Landon Fleegle					     Registered Appraiser Assistant			   Findlay
Laura George					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Rocky River
Tiffany Gibbons					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Jeromesville
James Hall					     Licensed Residential Appraiser			   East Liverpool
Daniel Hallisy					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Willoughby
James Hardcastle				    Certified General Appraiser			   Zanesville
Charles Kirk					     Certified General Appraiser			   Fairview Park
Morris Levy					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Youngstown
Richard Linhart					     Certified General Appraiser			   Brecksville
Ann Marie Lynch					    Certified General Appraiser			   Vandalia
Teresa Madden					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Northfield
Kimberly Martin					     Licensed Residential Appraiser			   Cincinnati
James McMullen 				    Licensed Residential Appraiser			   Warrensville Heights
Kimberlee McMullen				    Certified Residential Appraiser			   Delaware	
Virginia Miller					     Certified General Appraiser			   Wapakoneta
Jeffrey Newsom					    Certified Residential Appraiser			   Springboro
Bart Nuber					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Streetsboro
James Potts					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Cincinnati
Kent Rager					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Kenton
Bruce Schenck					     Certified General Appraiser			   Vandalia
Robert Thomas					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Middletown
Mark Wyant					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Gahanna
Michael Yeazel					     Certified Residential Appraiser			   Cincinnati
Tanya Ziegler					     Licensed Residential Appraiser			   Westerville
	

Disciplinary Actions May 2014 - Present—Appraiser 

Interested in becoming a salesperson? Find 
out everything you need to know about the 
application process by watching this video! 

Good luck in your career!
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Disciplinary Actions 2016—Real Estate 
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John R. Kasich, Governor 
State of Ohio

Jacqueline T. Williams, Director 
Ohio Department of Commerce

Anne M. Petit, Superintendent
Real Estate & Professional Licensing

Division of Real Estate & Professional  
Licensing

State of Ohio
Department of Commerce
Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing
77 South High Street, 20th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6133

Customer Service Hours: M - F, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Voice 614 | 466-4100
FAX 614 | 644-0584
TTY/TDD | 800-750-0750

The Ohio Department of Commerce is an equal  
opportunity employer and service provider.

Commission  
Members
Tre’ Giller (President) 
Diane Carnes (Vice President) 
Kristine Burdick
Courtney Combs 
Mary Ten Eyck Taylor 

Appraiser Board 
Members
Richard Hoffman 
John D. McIntyre
Steven Rench
Elizabeth Sigg (Board Chair)
Vacant (Public Member) 

Follow us on Twitter!
@OHDIVRealEstate

Listed below are the Real Estate Disciplinary Actions for 2016. 
Summaries are also available online. 

Revocations 
Rhonda McElroy					    Salesperson				    Lexington

Suspension, Fines, Education
Charmin Patterson				    Salesperson				    Nashport
Scott Wallace					     Salesperson				    Beachwood
Jan Kanas					     Salesperson				    Bexley
Scott Street					     Broker					     Columbus
Jennifer Johnson				    Salesperson				    Pemberville
Michael Namaky					    Broker					     Cincinnati
Julie Dickey					     Salesperson				    Circleville
Susan Beckley					     Broker					     Circleville
Bianca Bicaci					     Broker					     Painesville
Donald A. Payne Sr.				    Broker					     Columbus
Angela Lockhart					    Salesperson				    Beachwood
Darling Hatcher					     Salesperson				    Macedonia
Terrance Boyles					    Salesperson				    North Ridgeville	
Akil Shakir Hameed				    Broker					     Shaker Heights
Isaac S. Haggins Jr.				    Broker					     Cleveland
Lisa Jackman					     Broker					     London
William Burns					     Salesperson				    Broadview Heights
Tomi Johnson					     Broker					     Mayfield Heights
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