Inspections

During an inspection, all licensees are required to
have available a current, government issued
identification with photo. All licensees are
required to maintain their electronically issued
practicing license and IC license if applicable.

The board shall hold individual licensees and
facility owners responsible for compliance with
the board's safety and infection control standards
as follows:

e  Facility owners are responsible for all
common areas.

e Licensees are responsible for their
assigned service area and any service
area they are using at the time of an
inspection.

Feel free to contact the inspector in your area
with questions. A listing of Board inspectors can
be located at cos.ohio.gov click on About
Us/Staff Directory.

Website cos.ohio.gov

All licensees should become familiar with the
Board’s website. The website provides
information on Board laws & rules, applications,
CE, staff listings, meeting information, etc.

Who We Are

About Us

The Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber
Board regulates business and individuals
engaged in the practice of cosmetology,
branches of cosmetology, barbering,
boutique services, and tanning services.

The Board’s mission is to protect and
support the public through regulation and
education, while protecting the integrity of
the cosmetology and barbering industries.

The Board works to achieve this mission by
ensuring salons, barbershops, and
individuals offering those services are
compliant with infection control and safety
standards established by the Board.
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Contact Us

Website: cos.ohio.gov
Email: ohiocos@cos.ohio.gov
Phone: 614-466-3834
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To protect and support the public
through regulation and education,
while promoting the integrity of the

cosmetology and barbering industries.



http://www.cos.ohio.gov/

License Renewal

All cosmetology and branch of cosmetology
licenses are required to be renewed by January
31 of each odd numbered year.

All barber licenses are required to be renewed by
August 31 of each even numbered year.

Renewal of a license is a two-step process:

Step 1 Complete all required CE hours
(unless you have a CE exemption)

Step 2 Go to Elicense.ohio.gov log in to your
Elicense account and complete the renewal
application and submit the required fee(s).

CE Hours Exemptions

Renewal application and payment are required
even if you have an exemption.

First-Time Licensee
If this is your first Ohio license, you are not
required to obtain CE hours for the first renewal

period following the issuance of your license.
Instructor licenses are not eligible for this exemption.

Sixty-Five (65) or Older

Licensees who are age 65 or older prior to the
opening of the renewal period are not required to
complete CE hours. (See the website for more information)

Held an Ohio license for 30 years...
Licensees who have held an Ohio Board license for
30 years or more prior to the opening of the
renewal period are not required to complete CE
hours. (See the website for more information) Based on initial
issuance date of EACH license held.
Required CE Hours

e  One (1) Hour - Board Laws & Rules

® Three (3) Hours - Infection Control &
Safety

CE Broker

All licensees are required to set up a FREE CE
Broker account. This account will allow you to find
approved CE classes, track your individual CE
hours completion, and have access to Board
required classes. Visit cos.ohio.gov click on the
Renewal & CE Tab then click CE Broker for full
information.

Renewal Notices

Renewal notices are sent via email.

Each licensee will begin to receive emailed
renewal notices 120 days prior to the expiration
date of the license. The notices will continue to be
emailed at 90, 60, 30, and 15 days from the
expiration date.

*#* [t is important to ensure that your email and
mailing address are current in the Elicense
system.

Elicense

All applications, license renewals, payments, name
changes, mailing address, email updates, etc. must
be made in the online Elicense system.

To make changes/updates, complete a renewal, or
apply, you must log in to your Elicense Dashboard.
Go to Elicense.ohio.gov click on Login/Create
Your Account. You will use your email address
and the password you created.

*** Passwords must be updated yearly.

Once logged in click on “OPTIONS” located on your
license tile. Select your action from the drop down
list.

To update your email address, click the drop down
arrow beside your name in the upper right corner
and select “Manage Profile”.

“The best way to predict
your future is to CREATE it.”

Abraham Lincoln

Scope of Practice

Licensees are only permitted to provide services
within the scope of practice for the license they
hold. To read the full definition of the scope of
practice for cosmetology or a branch of
cosmetology visit the Ohio Revised Code Section
4713.01.

For the full scope of practice for barbering, visit
the Ohio Revised Code Section 4709.01. The Ohio
Revised Code is located on the Board’s website

www.cos.ohio.gov

Independent Contractor

An Independent Contractor is an individual who is
not an employee of a salon or shop but who
leases/rents space to practice barbering or a
branch of cosmetology within the facility.

*** A salon or shop owner is not required to hold
an IC license unless providing services at a
different location (separate) from the owned salon
or shop.


http://www.cos.ohio.gov/
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