Oral Health Access Supervision Program (OHASP) Permit Overview

Authorizing Dentist – A dentist who authorizes a dental hygienist to perform <u>dental hygiene services</u> (see definition of dental hygiene services below) at a <u>facility</u> (see definition of a facility below) when no dentist is physically present if all the conditions listed under 4715.365 of the Revised Code are met.

Dental Hygiene Services – The prophylactic, preventative, and other procedures that dentist are authorized by <u>The Dental Practice Act</u> to assign to dental hygienists, except for procedures while a patient is anesthetized, definitive root planning, definitive subgingival curettage, the administration of local anesthesia, and the procedures specified in rules adopted by the board as described in division (C)(3) of section <u>4715.22</u> of the Revised Code.

Facility – Full listing under <u>4715.36(G)</u> Revised Code, examples:

Health care facility - Hospital, or Home (nursing home, residential care facility, etc.);

State correctional institution;

Comprehensive child development program (Head Start);

Residential facility (Home or facility for an individual with a developmental disability)

Public and Nonpublic school

Shelter for victims of domestic violence

Foster home

Healthcare facility, such as a clinic or hospital, of the United States department of veterans

affairs.

Permit Application Requirements

Dentist – OHAD

Good Standing with the Board

Hygienist – OHAH

Completed at least 1 year and attained a minimum of 1500 hours of experience in the practice of dental hygiene (letter from employer).

Completed at least 24 hours of continuing dental hygiene education during the 2 years prior to submission of the application.

Completed an 8-hour course pertaining to the practice of dental hygiene under the Oral Health Access Supervision of a dentist. It must include at a minimum, instruction in both the following: The treatment of geriatric patients, medically compromised patients, developmentally disable patients, and pediatric patients; and record keeping practices. The course must be developed and offered by a institution accredited by ADA CODA or a program provided by a sponsor of continuing education approved by the Board. Completed, during the 2 years prior to submission of the application, a Board approved course pertaining to the identification and prevention of potential medical emergencies.

Good standing with the Board

Maximum number of permittees

An authorizing dentist shall not at any one time have more than 3 dental hygienists who hold permits issued under <u>4715.363</u> of the Revised Code working under the dentist's authorization pursuant to section <u>4715.365</u> of the Revised Code.

IMPORTANT PLEASE NOTE:

The OHASP Permit should not be confused with <u>4715-9-05</u> Administraive Code – Practice when the dentist is not physically present.

The Ohio State Dental Board does **not** issue a license/permit for practicing in the <u>office</u> when the dentist is not physically present. The <u>Permissible Practices Documentation for Dental Hygienists</u> is a form to document proof of meeting requirements to work without the dentist present. The supervising dentist must review, approve, and sign this document; and then it must be kept in the office where the dental hygienist works. This form is not submitted to the Ohio State Dental Board.