



Department of Higher Education

Welcome

- Ohio's College Credit Plus Program Dual enrollment for 7th to 12th grade students.
- Over 80,000 participants annually.
- Allows students to earn college credit while completing graduation requirements.
- Congratulations on becoming a College Credit Plus student!



Overview

This orientation will cover the following topics:

- Courses
- Grades and Weighting
- Additional Considerations
- High School and College
- Underperformance
- Payment
- Supports
- Athletic Eligibility
- Credit Transfer





Course Registration

- The college will discuss course options with the student, based on assessment scores, prerequisites, and other requirements
- School counselors can help students understand graduation requirements and CCP course substitutions: <u>Crosswalk</u>
- High schools and colleges develop 15 and 30 credit hour pathways to help you determine your plan





Course Modality

- At the high school with a credentialed instructor.
- At the high school with a college faculty member.
- Online (synchronous or asynchronous)
- On campus



Courses - Eligibility Rules

Students must complete their first 15 credits in Level I courses, which include:

- Transferable courses <u>See pathway examples</u>
- Courses in IT, Computer Science, Anatomy & Physiology, foreign language
- Courses that are part of a technical certificate
- Courses that are part of a 15- or 30-credit pathway
- Courses in study skills, academic or career success



Courses - Eligibility Rules

Non-allowable courses include:

- Private applied courses with one-on-one instruction (such as performing art lessons)
- Courses with high fees
- Study abroad courses
- Physical education courses
- Pass/Fail graded courses
- Remedial courses or sectarian/religious courses



OAC 3333-1-65.12, ORC 3365.13

Courses – How Many?

Students may be enrolled in up to 30 credits per year, which includes high school courses:

- Calculation: 30 (HS units x 3) = max CCP credit hours
- The maximum number of college credits a student can complete while participating in the program is 120
- If a student enrolls in more than 30 credits for the year, they can:
 - Drop the course prior to the no-fault withdrawal date
 - Pay for the entire course at the college's standard rates (Option A)

OAC 3333-1-65.12, ORC 3365.13

lege Credit Plus

Grades and Weighting of Courses

Grades

- The final grades earned in the college course are the same grade that will be on the high school transcript
 - CCP course grades will be factored into the high school and college GPAs

Grade Weighting

• High schools must weight all advanced standing courses in a subject area consistently(CCP, AP, IB, Honors)



Additional Considerations

Selective Service

- Male students who are at least 18 years of age and Ohio residents are required to be registered with the Selective Service System
- Students are required to provide their Selective Service number to the public college or university within 30 days of their 18th birthday
- Failure submit the Selective Service number will result in the student not being considered a College Credit Plus participant for that semester or term
 - The student will be responsible for any tuition, textbooks, or fees associated with the course(s)



Additional Considerations

FERPA

- Federal Education Rights to Privacy Act
- Rights transfer to the student
- There are provisions for parental access
- FERPA release for access to records



What are differences between high school & college?

	High School	College
Study Time	Required homework ranges between 1-3 hours per day	2-3 hours of studying/reading for each hour of class
Knowledge Acquisition	Information provided mostly in class, assignments to follow what was covered	Out-of-class work in advance of in-class discussion
Tests	Given weekly or at the end of each unit	Less frequent and cover more material



What are differences between high school & college?

	High School	College
Grades	Numerous quizzes, tests, homework assignments, etc.	Fewer tests and few homework assignments
Role of Parents/Guardian s	Guardians advocate, involved and work with teachers & counselors	Student has more responsibility; guardians more of a mentor/support
Accommodations	Parents and students work with high school staff to determine what assistance or accommodations can be made for students with IEPs or 504 plans	Students must work directly with college staff to determine if accommodations are needed; IEPs and 504 plans may or may not be included in the discussions



Families may be asked to reimburse courses if:

- The student does not earn a passing grade in their course
- The student withdraws after the no-fault deadline at the college
- *NOTE:* A student who is considered "economically disadvantaged" can not be asked to reimburse the cost of the course(s)

College Credit Plus Probation

ollege Credit Plus

- A student will be placed on CCP probation if:
 - They earn less than a cumulative 2.0 GPA in CCP courses or
 - They withdraw from 2 or more courses in one academic term

ORC 3365.09, 3365.091; OAC 3333-1-65.13

While on CCP Probation, the student:

- May only enroll in one College Credit Plus course for one college term (semester or quarter)
- May not enroll in a college course in the same subject in which student previously earned D, F, NC grade (or equivalent grade)
- If students on CCP probation do not increase their CCP GPA to a 2.0 or above during the probation term, they will be placed on CCP Dismissal

College Credit Plus Dismissal

- If a student does not raise their grade during the probation term, they are dismissed from CCP
- While on CCP Dismissal, students may not enroll in any College Credit Plus courses
- A student can request (appeal) to be reinstated in the program

College Credit Plus ORC 3365.09, 3365.091; OAC 3333-1-65.13

Appeals for Underperformance:

- CCP Probation:
 - Student may appeal to take a course in the same subject in which they previously earned a non-passing grade or received no credit
- CCP Dismissal:
 - Within 5 days of being dismissed, the student may submit an appeal to the secondary school to appeal CCP Dismissal or the student may appeal at the end of the CCP Dismissal semester
- *Note:* Each school district must have a policy describing the process for appeals



ORC 3365.09, 3365.091; OAC 3333-1-65.13

After HS Graduation:

- Grades earned in CCP will remain on students' college transcripts permanently
- If students fail or withdraw often, future financial aid may be also impacted negatively
 - Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) is a requirement for financial aid
 - Standards vary by institution



What are the expenses for College Credit Plus?

Option A: Self-Pay

- The family/student can choose to self-pay for college courses at the standard rate of tuition, fees, and textbooks
 - Students/families should arrange a plan for payment with the college or university
- Students can choose to earn college credit and high school credit OR only college credit
 - Students must inform the school of their choice of credit for courses



What are the expenses for College Credit Plus?

HigherEd.Ohio.gov/CCP

Option B: State Pay

- The "default" or standard option for College Credit Plus
- All college course tuition, fees, and textbooks will be paid by the state of Ohio
 - Supported by the school's foundation funds and the college's funds
- Students will earn college credit and high school credit



What are support services are available for students?

Students receive support from both the HS and College:

- High school counselors continue to provide assistance to all College Credit Plus students
- College advisors provide course selection assistance
- Colleges must provide the same academic supports to CCP students such as tutoring, library access, advising, etc.
- Students may access accommodations and must consult the college to complete this process.



What about athletic eligibility?

Student athletes should:

- Learn the Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) requirements
- Know that summer term CCP courses cannot be used to bring a student into compliance with the OHSAA requirements for interscholastic athletic participation



Will the course credits transfer?

- Certain general education and technical courses will transfer, especially from one Ohio public college to another Ohio public college <u>Ohio Transfer 36</u>
- Students must check with colleges to confirm transferability
- Students should also visit <u>https://transfercredit.ohio.gov</u> for transfer information





- Colleges may have a separate orientation for students to complete so they can receive access to student IDs, email accounts, and registration information.
- Please see the institution(s) you are enrolled in for additional details.



Do you have other questions?

Visit the CCP website for additional resources: <u>https://highered.ohio.gov/initiatives/access-acceleration/college-credit-plus</u>

> Follow up with the ODHE CCP Team: <u>CCP@highered.ohio.gov</u>

