Ohio Department of Natural Resources **DIVISION OF WILDLIFE**



LAKE ERIE FISHING GUIDE LICENSE APPLICATION

* REQUIRED FIELD

* FULL NAME (<i>Primary Contact</i>)	* DATE OF BIRTH	I	* TAX ID or SSN		
*STREET ADDRESS (Physical Location)	* CITY		STATE	* ZIP CODE	
*COUNTY (Physical Location)	E-MAIL ADDRESS		TELEPHONE		
BUSINESS NAME		COUNTY		TELEPHONE (if different than above)	
BUSINESS ADDRESS	CITY		STATE	ZIP CODE	
		NOT USCG LICENSED GU	IDE (use che	eck boxes below to indicate type of guiding	
NUMBER OF ICE SHANTIES AND GENERAL LOCATION					
NAME OF BOAT		REGISTRATION or FEDER	AL DOC No.	. LENGTH (ft.)	
USA	MMC EXPIRATION DATE				
☐ I want to be listed on the Division of Wildlife we	ebsite and publications.				
Check No in the amount of \$50	0.00 payable to the Ohio Div	vision of Wildlife is attached.			
The applicant certifies that he understands the process of the code and that this application is made in good fair			1501:31-3-	11 of the Ohio Administrative	
APF	PLICANT'S SIGNATURE	DAT	E	-	
Submit application to: LAKE	ERIE LAW ENFORCEMENT,	305 E. SHORELINE DR., SAN	IDUSKY, O	H 44870.	

Submit application to: LAKE ERIE LAW ENFORCEMENT, 305 E. SHORELINE DR., SANDUSKY, OH 44870 All boat guide applicants must include a copy of their current coast guard license with the application.

Completion of this form is required - Section 2921.13 O.R.C., Penalty: imprisonment up to 6 months or \$1000 fine or both. Section 1533.51 O.R.C., Penalty: imprisonment up to 6 months or \$1000 fine or both.

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE, FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

DATE RECEIVED	DATE ISSUED	DATE RETURNED	PERMIT #	DECAL #	ISSUED BY	PAYMENT TYPE	PAYMENT AMOUNT

1533.51 FISHING GUIDE LICENSE

No person shall be or serve as a fishing guide in the Lake Erie fishing district without a license from the chief of the division of wildlife. The application for a license, and the license, shall be in such form as the chief prescribes.

The chief, with the approval of the wildlife council, may establish the qualifications for such a license and the terms, conditions, and restrictions thereof. Such qualifications when applicable shall include that the applicant possesses a power boat operator's license from a department, agency, commission, or instrumentality of the United States.

Fishing guide licenses shall expire each year on the fifteenth day of April. Such a license shall be carried by the person in command of the boat or person in charge, upon his person, when such service is being performed and shall be exhibited upon demand to any wildlife officer or other law enforcement officer who has authority to enforce the wildlife, hunting, and fishing laws.

The license fee for a fishing guide license is fifty dollars per person.

The license fee for other services or devices, as approved by the chief, not mentioned in this section shall be an amount set by the chief with the approval of the wildlife council, not to exceed twenty-five dollars.

All license fees collected from fishing guides shall be deposited in the state treasury pursuant to section 1533.33 of the Revised Code.

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of this section or division rule adopted pursuant to it.

1501:31-3-11 FISHING GUIDES

- (A) Applicants for an Ohio fishing guide license whose intent it is to take clients on their vessel for hire where a United States coast guard merchant mariner credential is required, shall submit a copy of their valid United States coast guard merchant mariner credential along with their application and fee.
- (B) It shall be unlawful for any person to make a copy of an Ohio fishing guide license. The individual in command of a boat or in charge of any guide service shall possess their original fishing guide license when guide services are being performed on waters where a fishing license is required, and exhibit it upon demand to any wildlife officer or other law enforcement officer who has authority to enforce the wildlife, hunting, and fishing laws.
- (C) It shall be unlawful for any individual to operate in the lake Erie fishing district as a fishing guide without possessing a valid Ohio fishing guide license. Provided further, persons properly licensed as a fishing guide shall be exempt from keeping catch reports as required in section 1533.511 of the Revised Code.
- (D) It shall be unlawful for any person to operate in the lake Erie fishing district a boat for consideration or hire as a fishing guide boat without displaying a fishing guide decal furnished by the division of wildlife.
- (E) The fishing guide decal shall be:
 - (1) In a form prescribed by the chief of the division of wildlife.
 - (2) Serialized with a different number on each decal.
 - (3) Issued annually.
 - (4) Valid on April sixteenth of each year and expire on the following April fifteenth.
 - (5) Displayed in the inside lower left corner of the front windshield of a boat, or when no windshield is present, displayed on the exterior of the boat stern in the upper left corner.
- (F) It shall be unlawful for:
 - (1) A person to display on a boat an expired fishing guide decal.
 - (2) A person to display on a boat a fishing guide decal issued to another person, except when it is displayed in addition to the one issued to the person performing as a fishing guide.
- (G) In the lake Erie fishing district, it shall be unlawful for any individual to operate as an Ohio fishing guide with clients on a vessel for hire without a valid United States coast guard merchant mariner credential or while their license is under suspension or revocation or has expired.
- (H) All definitions set forth in rule 1501:31-1-02 of the Administrative Code apply to this rule.