No More Debt

Strategies to reduce and eliminate financial
sanctions in juvenile court

Introduce self
Slides will be available after presentation
Will have some time for questions at the end, can use chat to ask questions, but

will only go to host




15 years old — no priors —admitted to 1 ct obstructing official business (F5) — story
behind adjudication — placed on INDEFINITE probation




ILHOIL 3TY3Ls

Probation terms: (1) attend an alternative school, (2) submit to random urine screens,
and (3) attend MH and SA counseling




35 Review
Hearings

$50 due at each
hearing

18 Drug Screens




204 days In
detention




1 week before terminated from probation, ordered to pay amount due or it will be
sent to collections.




$28,063.31




CHLOE’S CHARGES

$24,480 for 204 days in detention ($120/day)
$1,750 for probation supervision ($50/month)
$1,080 for 18 drug screens ($60/screen)
$714.56 for 112 days on EMD ($6.38/day)
$24 for 2 green polo shirts

$9.50 for 2 yellow t-shirts

$5.25 for 1 shirt of unknown color

$28,063.31




Admission to one .
count of obstructing Bill for

official business at $28.063.31
age 15 ’

Chloe’s case is not typical, but it’s an example of what could happen (usually on a
much smaller scale) when courts have discretion to charge these fees with little
accountability.
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Outline

Laws authorizing assessment of financial

sanctions in delinquency cases

* Fines

» Costs

* Restitution

» Reimbursement (e.g., costs of confinement)

e Collection methods (permitted and prohibited)

e Collateral consequences of juvenile court debt

e \What you can do to reduce/eliminate court debt
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Laws
authorizing the
assessment of
financial
sanctions
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Juvenile Court’s Authority to Impose
Financial Sanctions — R.C. 2152.20

(A)If a child is adjudicated fa delinquent child or a juvenile traffic
offender, the court[may lorder any of the following dispositions, in
addition to any other disposition authorized or required by this chapter:

(1) Impose a fine;
(2) Require the child to pay costs;

(3) Require the child to make restitution to the victim based upon
the victim’s economic loss;

(4) Require the child to reimburse any or all of the costs incurred
for services or sanctions provided or imposed.

What if the case is dismissed?

* Under R.C. 2152.20, the imposition of court costs and other financial sanctions are
dispositional orders.

* The court cannot impose costs or other financial sanctions if the case is dismissed.
In re Graham, 7th Dist., 2002-Ohio-6615 (“[Clourt costs may be assessed if and
only if a child is actually adjudicated a delinquent.”); In re K.M., 11th Dist., 2012-
Ohio-5825.

Discretionary

* Courts may waive all fees and costs. R.C. 2151.54.

Transfer of cases

* Because financial sanctions are dispositional orders, a juvenile court cannot order
costs and then transfer the case to another county for disposition. In re Sekulich,
65 Ohio St.2d 13 (1981).
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 ines

= Restitution

Reimbursement

(including costs of confinement)
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Fines — R.C. 2152.20(A)(1)

Agg murder or murder $2,000
F1 $1,500
F2 $1,000
F3 $750
F4 $400
F5 $300
M1 $250
M2 $200
M3 $150
M4 $100
MM $50

A fine is an amount of money a court orders someone to pay as a penalty or a
punishment for an offense. Since we practice in juvenile court, the idea behind a fine

is that ordering a child to pay for committing a delinquent act in some way is
rehabilitative.




COURT OF COMMON PLEAS, JUVENILE COURT DIVISION
Court Fees and Fines.

Cost Type Cast ORC Autharity

$31.00 230320

$9.00 2743.70(A)(2)(b]
B $20.00 2949.091(A)(2)(a) i)
[Moving Violation (CRIS) $5.00 2949.093
[ADR $52.00 2303.201(E)(1)
Legal Research $6.00 2303.201(A)1)
Totall $143.00
[Court Fees $3L 2303.20
[General Revenue $10. 2943.051(A)2)(a)iiii)
[aDR $52.
Legal Cc $20. 2303.201(B)1)
Legal Researct h 56.00 803.201(A)(1)
Totall $119.00
[Seat Belt Fine - Driver $30.00 4513.263(G)(1)
Jseat Belt Fine - Passenger $20.00 1513.263(G)(2)
[Tobacco. $100.00 2151.87(F)(2)
[Traffic Moving Violation $5.00 e
$10.00 2949.094

$150.00 A511205(C)(1
$300.00

4511.205(C)(2)

our 31 230320
victims of Crime-Fel 530 2743.70[A)2)a]
[General Revenue $30. 2949.091(A)(2)(a)(i)
[oR 552 03 201(6)(1)
Legalc 520 03.201(8)(1)
Legal Research $6.00 2303:201(A)(1)

Tota] 516500
Court Fees 53100 2303.20
[Victims of Crime-Misd $5.00 7743 T0(AN2)(b]
20,00 354909 1(A)(2){a) (1]
552,00 2303 201(E)(1)
[egalC 52000 7303 201(B)1)
Legal Research $6.00 2303.201(A)(1)

Tota| —3138.00

[Court Fees S3L 2303.20

552 2303 201(E)(1)

[egal C 520 3303 201(8)(1)

Legal Research $6.0 2303.201(A)(1)
Tota] 10500

Fees that the court passes on to a defendant or delinquent child, and usually
include filing fees, charges for serving summons and subpoenas, fees for
transcripts, and copying and serving motions or court entries. Could also include
costs of appointed counsel and GAL, assessed against child or parents.

Costs can also include all costs that the state, municipal corporation, or county
incurred in investigating and prosecuting acts of terrorism. R.C. 2152.201. A
hearing is required. Id.

Court can order delinquent child to pay costs of tests performed on controlled

substance in a drug abuse offense (but only if results are positive). R.C. 2152.202.
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Restitution

The child may be ordered to pay the
victim “an amount based upon the
victim’s economic loss caused by or
related to the delinquent act.”

Unless the child was adjudicated for
MM

R.C. 2152.20(A)(3)
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Reimbursements

« Community control (including a supervision fee)

* Confinement
 Residential treatment
* DYS

R.C. 2152.20(A)(4)
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B
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Reimbursement under
R.C. 2152.20(A)(4)(b)

“All or part of the costs of confinement
in a residential facility * * * orin a
[DYS] institution, including, but not
limited to, a per diem fee for room and
board, the costs of medical and dental
treatment provided, and the costs of
repairing property the delinquent child
damaged while so confined.”

The juvenile court may order the child, as part of the disposition, to reimburse for any
or all of the costs incurred for services or sanctions provided, including:
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Limitations to
reimbursement
under R.C.
2152.20(A)(4)(b)

Cannot exceed the

amount the child
is able to pay

Cannot exceed the

“actual cost of
confinement”

21




- Results of Survey -

55
participants

33 counties

/ J
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What types of financial sanctions are assessed in your juvenile court?

90%
80%
70%

60%

50%
40%
30%
20%
10% I
0% . _—

Court Costs Restitution Fines Supervision Fees Costs of Confinement

m Always ®Sometimes ™ Never

Almost 80% of respondents practice in juvenile courts that always or sometimes
impose court costs

100% of respondents report that their courts either always or sometimes impose
restitution

Fines are less common: about 40% of respondents report their juvenile courts
never impose fines

As far as reimbursements, over half of respondents say their juvenile courts never
impose supervision fees, and over 80% say their courts never order their clients to
reimburse for costs of confinement. (However, 19% reported their juvenile courts
either always or sometimes order kids to pay back the cost of being incarcerated.)
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Do the juvenile courts you regularly practice in order other
costs against the parents or legal guardians?

0%

69%

= Always = Sometimes = Never
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Can court order
parents to pay?

4

For the most part, no — court costs and other
financial sanctions are dispositional orders,
meaning they are part of a child’s sentence.
In reality, parents are occasionally ordered to
pay some or all of a delinquent child’s costs.
And, Juv.R. 4 permits the court to tax the costs
of appointed counsel and GALs against parents.
Juvenile court cannot order parents to pay
restitution in a delinquency proceeding. In re
Daudt, 12th Dist., 1986 WL 9630.

* But, parents can be held liable for

25




restitution through a separate civil suit.
R.C. 2307.70, 3109.09, 3109.10.
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Collection Methods
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Methods courts use to attempt to collect juvenile court debt

40

38
35
35
30
25
20
15 13 14
11 5
10
7
5
5 3 3
RS |
0

= Payment Plan = Community Service = Collections Agency Civil Judgment
H License Suspension u Vehicle Registration Block o Detention/Jail u Contempt
u Refusal to Seal Record H Violation or Extension of Probation m Other

55 participants

Payment plan and community service most common

License suspension, contempt, refusal to seal record, violation or extension of
probation also occurring in many jurisdictions

Also concerning is that 5 respondents indicated their juvenile courts place kids in
detention or jail for failure to pay juvenile court debt
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Internal collection

V| All financial sanctions

Court may allow child to enter into
payment plan rather than accept a lump
sum payment and charge a “reasonable
fee” to defray administrative costs. R.C.
2152.20(E)(3).

The maximum time permitted for
Bagment shall not exceed 5 years. R.C.
152.20(E)(2).

Internal collection

* The clerk of the court (or another person authorized by law or by the court) may
permit payment of all, or any portion, of the financial sanction in installments by
any reasonable method and on any terms that the court considers just. R.C.
2152.20(E)(2).

* May accept credit or debit cards or other types of electronic payment, and transfer
the cost of card processing to the juvenile. R.C. 2152.20(E)(2).
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Community Service

v All financial sanctions

If a child fails to pay a financial sanction,
the juvenile court may impose a term of
community service in lieu of payment.
R.C. 2152.20(D).

If community service is ordered in lieu of
court costs, contempt and any subsequent
incarceration may not be imposed for
failure to perform. State v. Lamb, 2005-
Ohio-4741 (2d Dist.).
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Collection Agency

v’] All financial sanctions

Permitted under R.C. 2152.20(E)

Collection should end at age 21

Collection agencies

* The clerk of court (or another person authorized by law or by the court) may enter
into contracts with public agencies or private vendors for the collection of financial
sanctions, which may include interest from the date of imposition of the sanction.
R.C. 2152.20(E)(1).

* Because all dispositional orders end when child turns 21, agency should be notified
they can only collect for the period designated by the court or until the juvenile
attains age 21. R.C. 2151.38, 2152.22(A).

* Best practice to consider collateral consequences resulting from use of a collection
agency.
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Civil Judgment

Fees

Costs

Restitution

v
v
v
® Fines

R.C. 2335.19
Methods to collect civil judgments include garnishment and liens on property.
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License Suspension

o v’| Fines

. . Ends at age 21

* In re R.K., 8th Dist., 2004-Ohio-
6918; R.C. 2151.38, 2152.22(A)

A court may declare the forfeiture of a person’s license if he has been issued a
citation for (or charged with) specific violations of traffic law, motor vehicle crimes,
or other laws involving the suspension of a license or licensing of motor vehicles
and the person has either (a) failed to appear in court, or (b) failed to pay the fine
imposed within the required time. R.C. 2935.27(D), 4510.22(A).

Not a permitted method of collecting outstanding court costs. State v. Short, 2d
Dist. Darke No. 2011 CA 16, 2012-Ohio-2546, 9 8.

But see Ohio Supreme Court bench card on Juveniles Fines and Fees, which
indicates that license suspension is a permitted collection method. (I disagree.)
Note: A juvenile court can order—as a condition of community control—that the
child’s license be suspended. R.C. 2152.19(A)(4)(l). But, that is different than
suspending a child’s license as a consequence for not paying financial sanctions.
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Vehicle Registration

Block
v| Fines
v| Costs

Remains in effect until child pays fine or
costs imposed by the court.

R.C. 2947.09.

Must end at age 21.
R.C. 2151.38, 2152.22(A).

If child charged with an offense in juvenile court and either (a) fails to appear in
court at the required place and time to answer the charge, or (b) is adjudicated
delinquent and fails within the time allowed by the court to pay any fine or costs
imposed, court may notify registrar of motor vehicles to refuse to register the
child’s vehicle. R.C. 2947.09.

BMV amended policies to allow staff to lift registration block if person is 21 or
older and block issued by juvenile court. Person does not need to go back to
juvenile court to request that block be lifted first.
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Detention for Nonpayment

® Any financial sanction

Court costs and fees are civil—not criminal—
obligations, and may be collected only by the
methods provided for the collection of civil
judgments. Strattman v. Studt, 20 Ohio St.2d 95, 253
N.E.2d 749 (1969).

A juvenile cannot be ordered to detention for failure
to pay court costs. In re Rinehart, 10 Ohio App.3d
318, 320 (4th Dist.1983) (applying Strattman to
juvenile proceedings).

* Section 15, Article | of the Ohio Constitution expressly prohibits imprisonment for
civil debt, and “there is no justification for imprisonment for nonpayment of costs
in criminal cases but not in civil cases.” Id. At 102-103.

* Note also: a court may not order a person to appear or issue a warrant for unpaid
court costs. Strongsville v. Waiwood, 62 Ohio App.3d 521, 577 N.E.2d 63 (8th
Dist.1989), syllabus.
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Contempt

® Nonpayment of costs in adult court

Nonpayment of financial sanctions
in juvenile court

Contempt is never an appropriate method to collect costs in adult court. State v.
Ellis, 2d Dist., 2008-Ohio-2719.

Should argue contempt cannot be used to collect costs in juvenile court as well. In
re Buffington, 6th Dist., 89 Ohio App.3d 814 (1993), but see In re J.Z., 6th Dist.,
2012-0Ohio-1105 (use of contempt proceedings to collect restitution and court
costs).

Court costs and fees are civil—not criminal—obligations, and may be collected
only by the methods provided for the collection of civil judgments. Strattman v.
Studt, 20 Ohio St.2d 95, 253 N.E.2d 749 (1969).

Ohio Supreme Court Collection of Fines and Fees in Juvenile Court bench card
states contempt proceedings for failure to pay are “not recommended” and should
be used as a “last resort.” If used, an ability to pay hearing is mandatory.
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Refusal to Accept Filings

® Any financial sanction

The trial court’s order barring all current and
future actions and filings until all fees were paid
constituted an improper denial of access to the
courts. In re GMS Mgt. Co., Inc. v. Unpaid Court
Costs, Fees and Delinquencies, 7th Dist., 2010-
Ohio-2203.

Juvenile court clerks should not be refusing to allow people to file a motion to seal

their record.

But, courts might take nonpayment into consideration when granting or denying an

application to seal.
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Violation or Extension
of Probation

® Any financial sanction

Due process and equal protection prohibit
juvenile courts from treating two similarly
situated children differently based solely on their
economic status or the economic status of their
parents. U.S. DOJ Advisory (Jan. 2017). See also
Strattman v. Studt, 20 Ohio St.2d 95 (1969).

If court concerned child will not pay financial sanctions once probation terminated,
these are separate orders, rather than simply a condition of probation/community
control. They can extend beyond the termination of supervision, up until a child’s 21st
birthday.

If court wants child to remain on supervision so that they have the threat of a
violation of they do not pay, that is not a lawful collection method. Courts cannot put
someone in detention for failure to pay, even they label it something else, such as a
“violation of probation” or “violation of court order.”
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Methods of Collection - Summary

Permitted Methods of Collection

Voluntary payment

Payment plan

Community service

Collection agency

Civil judgment (except for fines)

Registration block

Prohibited Methods of Collection

Detention/jail

License suspension (except for fines)
Contempt*

Warrant

Refusal to accept filings

Violation or extension of probation

Ohio Supreme Court Juveniles Fines and Fees Bench card indicates contempt is “not
recommended” and should be the “last resort.”
The Constitution requires that before punishing someone for failing to pay a fine or

fee, a court must inquire into the individua

I's ability to pay.

Detention/jail is not permitted for nonpayment of any financial sanction.
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WHEN S L
DOES
I'T END?7?

* All dispositional orders end by court
order or when the child turns 21,
whichever occurs first. R.C. 2151.38,
2152.22(A).

e This includes all orders to enforce the
payment of fines, costs, license
suspensions, community service

requirements, and vehicle registration
blocks.
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If amount already sent to collection
agency, court should inform agency it
can no longer continue to collect once
child turns 21 years old.
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Collateral Consequences of
Juvenile Court Debt
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Juvenile court fees: High Pain, No Gain:

How Juvenile Administrative Fees Harm
Low-Income Families in Alameda

1) Hal’m VU|nerab|e County, California
families .

2) Undermine the
rehabilitative purpose
of the juvenile system

3) Provide minimal
revenue to the county
imposing the costs

BerkeleyLaw

Harms families

* Families reported that juvenile court fees disrupted their financial stability, often
forcing them to choose between meeting basic necessities and paying the county.

Strains family relationships

* “Many families already have challenging relationships due to the involvement of
their child in the juvenile system, and adding a financial burden only amplifies
feelings of anger or resentment. This is contrary to the goal of the juvenile system
in fostering family stability and the reintegration of a youth back into a household.”

* Juvenile court costs sometimes create “perverse incentives” for families, including
choosing to give up guardianship of a delinquent child in order to avoid paying
costs, or the delinquent child running away from home to relieve his family of the
burden of the costly administrative fees.

* Included in your materials.
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Annual amount collected from
families

Costs associated with collecting
fees

Total net collection

Outstanding balance

$400,000

$250,000

$150,000

$1,500,000

. . T ~ o
High Pain, No Gain:
How Juvenile Administrative Fees Harm
Low-Income Families in Alameda

County, California

BerkeleyLaw

Alameda County collected approximately $400,000 annually from families charged

juvenile court costs.

The costs associated with assessing and collecting fees totaled more than

$250,000.

The outstanding balance owed by families exceeded $1.5 million.

As a result of this and other studies, both Alameda and Los Angeles Counties

placed a moratorium on the assessment of juvenile administrative fees.
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@ U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
or b Jusmice
o

“These fines and fees can be
economically debilitating to
children and their families and
can have an enduring impact on
a child’s prospects.”

In January 2017, the U.S. Department of Justice issued an Advisory regarding
collecting fines and fees from youth involved with the juvenile justice system.
Later rescinded by the Trump administration.

Included in your materials.
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U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
omc OrcE roK Access To JusTic

“Perhaps not surprisingly,
given the collateral negative
consequences, there is
evidence that fines and fees
increase the risk of
recidivism.”

“Young people will ordinarily be unable to pay fines and fees themselves. Families
burdened by these obligations may face a difficult choice, either paying juvenile
justice debts or paying for food, clothing, shelter, and other necessities. The cost of
fines and fees may foreclose educational opportunities for system-involved youth or
other family members. When children and their families are unable to pay fines and
fees, the children often suffer escalating negative consequences from the juvenile
justice system that may follow them well into adulthood. Perhaps not surprisingly,
given the collateral negative consequences, there is evidence that fines and fees
increase the risk of recidivism.”
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The Supreme Court of Ghio

65 SOUTH FRONT STREET, CoLUMBUS, OH 43215-3431

Cous JusTics o Jusmics
MALREEN O CONNOR MAUREEN OFCONNOR
JusTices

Temmsncs O'DosssLL THLEPHONE 614.367.9060
SHARON L KENNEDY FACSIMILE 614.367.9069

JUDITH L. FRENCH www supremecaurtobio gav
PATRICK F. FIsCHER
R. PATRICK DEWINE
MaRY DEGENARO

January 29, 2018
Dear Judges:

Practices that penalize the poor simply because of their economic state; that impose unreasonable
fines, fees, or bail requirements upon our citizens to raise money or cave to local funding pressure;
or that create barriers to access to justice are simply wrong. No rescission of guidance by the
Department changes that.

I know the pressure that many of you face to generate revenue, to increase collection rates,
to “self-fund” as if the courts are a business trading in a commodity. But court cases are not
business transactions. We do not buy and sell a commodity; we perform a public service.

Included in materials
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AND THE PROMISE OF

gk E FOR YOUNG PEOPLE AND
g oot LIES IN CALIFORNIA
Research Note: Justice vperyiooind
System-Imposed Financial e
journals sagepub.comvhome'yv|

Penalties Increase the Likelihood gsace
of Recidivism in a Sample of
Adolescent Offenders

Alex R. Piquero' and Wesley G. Jennings®

Abstract

Although the use of financial penalties is pervasive in the justice system, there has been limited (and
mostly dated) empirical research that has investigated the effect of financial costs incurred by
juvenile offenders and the extent to which such costs relate to the likelihood of recidivism and
reintegration into society. This study uses data from a large cohort of adolescent offenders to
examine how demographics and case characteristics relate to financial penalties imposed by the
justice system and the degree to which such monetary penalties are related to recidivism in a 2-year
follow-up. Results suggest that financial penalties increase the likelihood of recidivism. Study lim-
itations and directions for future research are also discussed

Keywords
juveniles, delinquency, recidivism, restitution, costs, fines, fees

Included in materials (except Piquero and Jennings article)
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What can

you do?

Before financial sanctions imposed

« Ask for ability to pay determination
» Community service in lieu of financial sanctions
« Dispute amount or form of restitution

After financial sanctions imposed

 Appeal/motion to vacate
+ Motion to suspend or modify payment terms
 Motion to cancel uncollectible debt

After nonpayment

« Ask for ability to pay determination (mandatory)
« Community service in lieu of financial sanctions
 Motion to suspend or modify payment terms

+ Motion to cancel uncollectible debt

» Motion to vacate

After client turns 21

 Motion to cancel debt and end all collection efforts
* Request court notify collections agency to delete debt
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Determining Ability to Pay

Reimbursement for costs of Fines
confinement

After failure to pay Costs

Court-appointed attorney fees Restitution

Costs ordered to reimburse cost of confinement shall not “exceed the total
amount of reimbursement the child is able to pay as determined at the hearing
and shall not exceed the actual cost of the confinement.” R.C. 2152.20(A)(4)(b).
Hearing on ability to pay is discretionary when imposing fines or costs, but hearing
to determine ability to pay after failure to pay is mandatory. In re McClanahan, 5th
Dist. No. 2004AP010004, 2004-Ohio-4113; In re Carter, 4th Dist. Nos. 04CA15 and
04CA16, 2004-Ohio-7285.

Juvenile court must make an affirmative determination on the record that a child
has, or can reasonably be expected to have the ability to pay the cost of legal
services. The court must determine the child’s ability to pay before imposing court-
appointed attorney fees. In re J.W., 12th Dist. Nos. CA2004-02-036 and CA2004-03-
061, 2004-Ohio-7139; Juv.R. 4; OAC 120-1-05.
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Do the juvenile courts you regularly practice in make an
ability to pay determination prior to imposing a
financial sanction?

Choice
®  Always
® Sometimes

®  Never

Over 1/3 of respondents indicated their juvenile courts NEVER make a determination
that the child is able to pay before imposing financial sanctions
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DETERMINING THE ABILITY TO PAY

% The juvenile court should presume that young people
are unable to pay fines and fees and only impose them
after an affirmative showing of ability to pay.’

=

7 U.S. Dep’t of Justice, Advisory for Recipients of
Financial Assistance from the U.S. Department
of Justice on Levying Fines and Fees on
Juveniles (January 2017), https://ojp.gov
about/ocr/pdfs/AdvisoryJuvFinesFees.pdf.

Collection of Fines and Fees in Juvenile Courts Bench Card, The Supreme Court of Ohio (2018)

Also comes from Juv.R. 4 and OAC
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Determining Ability to Pay

Consideration of ability to pay should focus

ique circumstances that inhibit the
| child’s I;_ubility to pay, including:"!

o Requiring a child to work to pay fines and
fees may have negative consequences like
missing school in order to work;

o Children often lack their own means of
transportation; and

o Children under probation or in a
diversion program may find it difficult to

simultaneously fulfill obligations related to
their probation, program, school, and job.

Collection of Fines and Fees in Juvenile Courts Bench Card, The Supreme Court of Ohio (2018)

Court should focus on CHILD’s ability to pay, not parents’ ability to pay. This is a
dispositional order imposed on the child.

Appointed counsel may be one indicator that the juvenile is indigent, but courts
split as to whether it is sufficient by itself to determine the juvenile is unable to
pay a financial sanction. In re J.G., 8th Dist., 2013-Ohio-583 (“[I]f a juvenile is
indigent for purposes of appointed counsel, he or she is indigent for purposes of
imposing financial sanctions.”); but see In re Carter, 4th Dist., 2004-Ohio-7285.
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Determining
Ability to Pay:
Questions to
Ask Your
Client at the

Client’s age?

Are you employed?

Have you ever been employed?
Do you have a work permit?

Do you have a checking account?
Do you have a savings account?
Do you have any bank account?

Do you have cash saved at home?

© ® N o g~ W NP

Hearing

Do you own a car?

N
=4

Do you own a home?

e
[

Do you own any stocks or bonds?

Did you receive an inheritance?

B
> ow

Do you own any assets?

Do you have a disability (questions to draw out any barriers to working)?

=
o

Do you have reliable transportation?

i
o

Do you have other obligations that might prevent you from working?

Cannot consider parents’ ability to pay @ hearing to consider child’s indigence
Indigence for purposes of appointed counsel sufficient to determine indigence for
purposes of imposing financial sanctions?
Criticism of ability to pay hearings:

- Provides too much discretion to judges

- Some courts consider future ability to pay after kids graduate H.S.
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Community Service Before
Financial Sanctions Imposed

If a child is indigent, the court shall
consider imposing a term of community
service in lieu of imposing a financial
sanction. R.C. 2152.20(D).

Community service may be considered
even if the child is not indigent. R.C.
2152.20(D); 2152.19.

The juvenile court js not required to state its consideration of the child’s indigency on
the record. In re J.G., 8th Dist., 2013-0Ohio-583; In re Cory P., 5th Dist., 2012-Ohio-
5453; In re Boss B., 6th Dist., 2008-Ohio-2995; In re Hopkins, 5th Dist., 2003-Ohio-

5081 (denial of motion to vacate fines and costs sufficient to show court “considered”

community service); but see In re JW., 12th Dist., 2004-Ohio-7139 (reversed when
nothing in record indicated trial court considered imposing community service before
imposing financial sanction).

Juvenile must apprise court of indigency in order for court to consider community
service in lieu of costs. In re Carter, 4th Dist., 2004-Ohio-7285.
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Community Service
After Nonpayment

If a child fails to pay a financial sanction, the
juvenile court may impose a term of community
service in lieu of payment. R.C. 2152.20(D).

If community service is ordered in lieu of court
costs, contempt and any subsequent incarceration
may not be imposed for failure to perform. State v.
Lamb, 2005-Ohio-4741 (2d Dist.).
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An evidentiary hearing is required
before a court can order restitution if the
amount is disputed.

Amount limited to victim’s actual

DiSputing economic loss.

Amount of

I I Must provide competent, credible
Restitution evidence to support amount requested.

Court may apportion restitution amount
co-defendants.

Court must find a definite amount of restitution and must determine the amount is
reasonable. An evidentiary hearing must be held if the amount is disputed. R.C.
2152.20(A)(3); In re Holmes, 70 Ohio App.2d 75 (1st Dist. 1980); In re Clemens,
11th Dist. Case No. 2001-L-004, 2002-Ohio-3370.

Limited to victim’s actual economic loss caused by delinquent conduct. R.C.
2152.20(A)(3).

Court record must contain competent, credible evidence to show amount. In re
Hatfield, 4th Dist. Case No. 03CA14, 2003-Ohio-5404.

Court may apportion restitution among co-defendants. In re Daudt, 1987 WL
13715, 1987 Ohio App. LEXIS 7717 (12th Dist. 1987).
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Impermissible Restitution

COSTS OF INVESTIGATING FUTURE EXPENSES AMOUNT ALREADY PAYMENTS TO THIRD
AND PROSECUTING THE CASE REIMBURSED BY INSURANCE PARTY

 City of Centerville v. Knab, 2020-Ohio-5219 - city
seeking restitution for responding to false 911 call.
Ohio Supreme Court held cities are not “victims”
under Marsy’s Law.

 Dispo entry ordering restitution is final, appealable
order, so cannot add additional expenses that appear in
the future.

* “[A] trial court exceeds its authority when it orders an
offender to pay restitution to a victim without
considering the offset of the victim’s loss by an
insurer.” State v. Johnson, 4th Dist. No. 03CA 11-
2004-Ohio-2236, | 11, citing State v. Martin, 140
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Ohio App. 3d 326, 337, 2000-Ohio-1942.
Legislature’s intent to not allow payment to victims’

insurance companies is clear. State v. Allen, 8th Dist.
Cuyahoga 2013-0Ohio-1656, { 18.

56




Forms of
Restitution

) . . Restitution may be in the form of a cash
Collection of Fines and Fees in . ! L. .
Juvenile Courts Bench Card reimbursement paid in a lump sum or in
The Supreme Court of Ohio installments, the performance of repair work
(2018) to restore any damaged property to its original

.. 4 j= 7/ L=

condition, the performance of a reasonable
amount of labor for the victim or survivor of the
victim, the performance of community service
work, any other form of restitution devised by
the court, or any combination of the previously
described forms of restitution.®

Community service is an option that the juvenile court must consider if the child is
indigent in lieu of any type of financial sanction, including restitution.
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Initial Order Unlawful

* Fines ordered exceed the statutory limit

« Restitution ordered after disposition

« Restitution ordered for impermissible expenses
* No ability to pay hearing (where mandatory)

« Costs ordered against parents*

Appeall « Case dismissed

H Collection/Enforcement Method
Motion to W i T —

Vacate « Cannot incarcerate a person for failure to pay costs
« Cannot garnish wages without a valid civil judgment

 Cannot suspend a person’s license for failure to pay
costs

mm Over 21

« No jurisdiction to continue to collect debt

Since we represent the children, this might not be an option unless we know it
would not backfire and assess the costs to our client

Also: State v. Henderson, 161 Ohio St.3d 285, 2020-Ohio-4784 might limit motions
to vacate, direct appeal is preferable.

58




* Can be filed at any time

Motion to « Request ability to pay hearing to
establish child’s indigence
Suspend or * Request community service in
Mod |fy lieu of financial sanctions
» General policy argument
Payment regarding collateral
consequences of juvenile court
debt

- Can file motion to modify payment of restitution under R.C. 2152.20(A)(3).
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- Worked in Chloe’s case!

Motion to Cancel
Uncollectible Debt

“If at any time the court finds that an amount
owing to the court is due and uncollectible, in
whole or in part, the court may direct the clerk
of the court to cancel all or part of the claim.”

R.C. 2151.542

60




Best Practices

1. Encourage court to adopt local rule
waiving all costs and fines
* Increases recidivism
« Barriers to rehabilitation

2. Juvenile courts should presume that
young people are unable to pay fines and
fees, and only impose them after an
affirmative showing of ability to pay

3. Impose community service in lieu of
financial sanctions*

*Many kids might have same challenges with community service as they do working:
lack of transportation, school and other obligations
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Questions?

Katherine Sato
Assistant State Public Defender
Juvenile Department
(614) 644-1567
katherine.sato@opd.ohio.gov
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