
2023 Hamilton County Traffic Crashes

Crash Severity

Select Crash Categories

Top 3 Routes

Additional crash information for Hamilton County
is available from the OSTATS Crash Dashboard
at: https://statepatrol.ohio.gov/ostats

Hamilton County Safety
Belt Compliance Rate

91.4%
Statewide Safety Belt 
Compliance Rate

84.8%

Crashes by Day of Week

Crashes by Time of Day

Crashes by Severity
Fatal

72
<1%

Injury
6,234
23%

Property 
Damage
21,166

77%

SUN
3,035
11%

MON
3,768
14%

TUE
4,159
15%

WED
4,055
15%

THU
4,294
15%

FRI
4,615
17%

SAT
3,546
13%

Morning
9,976
36%

Afternoon
13,418

49%

Evening
4,078
15%

Crash Severity 2021 2022 2023 Total Average
Fatal 65 75 72 212 71
Serious Injury 420 376 379 1,175 392
Minor Injury 3,174 3,103 3,122 9,399 3,133
Injury Possible 2,993 2,775 2,733 8,501 2,834
Property Damage 22,724 22,126 21,166 66,016 22,005

Category 2021 2022 2023 Total Average
Youth-Related (Driver Age 15-24) 9,523 9,025 8,817 27,365 9,122
Teen-Related (Driver Age 15-19) 3,780 3,487 3,594 10,861 3,620
Failure to Yield-Related 3,444 3,401 3,447 10,292 3,431
Speed-Related 2,521 2,134 2,037 6,692 2,231
Commercial-Related 1,700 1,643 1,728 5,071 1,690
Ran Red Light/Stop Sign 1,593 1,542 1,433 4,568 1,523
OVI-Related 952 909 822 2,683 894
Distracted-Related 951 728 745 2,424 808
Drug-Related 222 178 139 539 180

Route 2021 2022 2023 Total Average
IR-75 1,743 1,665 1,600 5,008 1,669
IR-71 966 1,152 1,239 3,357 1,119
IR-275 1,002 1,121 1,033 3,156 1,052



Driver Training

UPDATE

OCTOBER 2024

Phones Down. It’s the 
Law.

 Ohio drivers can be now be 
pulled over solely for holding a 
device.

 The first offense carries up to 
a $150 fine and 2 points on 
your license.

 38% of all distracted driving 
crashes in Ohio involve a 
driver under age 24.

 Drivers under the age of 18 
are still restricted from 
using their devices in any 
way, including hands-free 
features.

Driving Safely in the Dark

 With fewer hours of daylight in the 
fall and winter months, drivers 
spend more time driving in the 
dark.

 Increase visibility by ensuring 
your headlights, taillights, and 
wipers are working properly.

 Don’t out drive your headlights! 
Low beams have 180 feet of 
visual space, and high beams 
have 350 feet.

 For the first full year after 
getting a probationary license, 
teen drivers must be 
accompanied by a parent 
between midnight and 6 a.m.

The Facts About 
Driving High

 Driving while under the influence 
of marijuana is against the law.

 Marijuana impairs your ability to 
drive safely, affecting your motor 
skills, field of vision, perception, 
and reaction time.

 Marijuana makes it harder for a 
driver to correctly judge space 
between vehicles, speed, and how 
quickly to stop at an intersection.

 In 2023, marijuana was involved in 
306 deadly crashes in Ohio –
which accounts for 27% of all fatal 
crashes.

 Mixing alcohol and marijuana 
amplifies impairment.

Distraction Likely a Factor in Rear-End Crash on I-71

On June 4 2024, the driver of a blue pickup truck was traveling south at 70 mph in the left lane 
through Norwood. The driver struck the back of a grey car directly in front of him that had slowed 
to 45 mph. The impact forced the grey car to hit the jersey wall. Both drivers were wearing seat 
belts, but the driver of the grey car was taken to the hospital with minor injuries. The driver of the 
pickup truck was not hurt. He was cited for Failure to Maintain Assured Clear Distance Ahead.
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