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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER APPLICATION FOR 

BUSINESS NAME / DBA CHANGE 

 

                                                                    OHIO REVISED CODE (R.C.) 4517.23 
Change of status notice is required in writing, within 15 days of the change. 

INCOMPLETE INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE DELAY OF PROCESSING YOUR APPLICATION 

 Change of Business Name  Add a DBA Name  *Remove a DBA Name 

*When a DBA is removed, the dealer has sixty (60) days from the date the application is processed to have ALL titles transferred out of the DBA. Any 
titles after the 60 days will not be able to be transferred by the title office, they will need to go through the court order process, please contact your 
county clerk of courts for the court order process. 
EXACT BUSINESS NAME 
      

DEALER PERMIT # 
      

DEALER PLATE # 
      

REGISTERED DBA OR TRADE NAME 
      

BUSINESS TELEPHONE 
      

CURRENT BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS 
      

P.O. BOX 
      

E-MAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL) 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

COUNTY 
      

 
 INITIAL 

 
It is understood that a physical inspection may be performed by BMV Investigations shortly after issuance. If the licensed 
location fails to meet any requirements it may be referred to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board for possible suspension or 
revocation of the license. 

CHANGE OF BUSINESS NAME 
NEW BUSINESS NAME 
      

Submit photographs of the proposed business sign(s). The sign must display the business name in which the 
application is made, any registered trade names in letters, and letters shall be no less than six inches high, be 
permanent, properly maintained and prominently displayed by the entrance of the office, if the sign is not visible 
from the public roadway.  

Submit photographs in JPG format only, and e-mail to: dealerphotos@dps.ohio.gov. Please include your 
business name and permit number in the subject of your e-mail. 

FRANCHISE MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS: Indicate each MAKE that will be sold:  
Statements of Contract, BMV 4319, must be submitted for the makes listed below with this application. 

MAKE 
      

MAKE 
      

MAKE 
      

MAKE 
      

MAKE 
      

ADD OR REMOVE A DBA NAME 
DBA OR FICTITIOUS NAME 
       ADD 
DBA OR FICTITIOUS NAME  
       *REMOVE 

PHOTOS MAY BE SUBMITTED BY MAIL WITH THE APPLICATION OR BY E-MAIL TO 
dealerphotos@dps.ohio.gov 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS FEES 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER PERMIT (REQUIRED) $ 2.00 
AMENDED REGISTRATION CARDS MASTER PLATE + ADDITIONAL PLATES 
(REQUIRED, IF ISSUED LICENSE PLATES)  $1.00 x       $       

GRAND TOTAL FEE $       
MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO “OHIO TREASURER OF STATE” 
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I AFFIRM THAT ALL INFORMATION PROVIDED ON THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE AND CORRECT AND THAT I, AS OWNER, 
PARTNER, OFFICER, MEMBER OR TRUSTEE HAVE AUTHORITY TO SIGN THIS APPLICATION. 

 
SIGNATURE (OWNER, PARTNER, PRESIDENT, MEMBER, OR TRUSTEE) 

X 
DATE 

      
PRINT NAME OF SIGNER 

      
 

RETURN THE COMPLETED APPLICATION, PHOTOS, 
OTHER SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES TO: 

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
Attention: Dealer Licensing Section 

P.O. Box 16521 
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521 

For Additional Information and Laws 
Visit our Web site at www.OhioAutoDealers.com  

 

http://www.ohioautodealers.com/

