OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER
APPLICATION FOR ADDRESS CHANGE

INCOMPLETE INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE DELAY OF PROCESSING YOUR APPLICATION.
Change of status notice is required in writing, within 15 days of the change according to Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) 4517.23.

[] Change of Address [ ] Add / Remove a P.O. Box

CURRENT INFORMATION

EXACT BUSINESS NAME DEALER PERMIT # DEALER PLATE #
REGISTERED DBA OR TRADE NAME BUSINESS TELEPHONE
CURRENT BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS P.0. BOX E-MAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL)
CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

INITIAL

Note: The issuance of a used motor vehicle dealer’s license does not supersede building codes and local zoning. The State of
Ohio (BMV) Dealer Licensing Section is the regulator of motor vehicle dealers, but it does not pre-empt the enforcement by
local authorities of zoning, building codes, health, safety codes, or laws.

It is recommended that each applicant check building and zoning regulations applicable to the proposed facility with
their local authority prior to making application. Evidence of building and zoning requirements must be presented upon the
request of the registrar.

NOTE: Note obtaining the appropriate use permits with zoning could result in the denial, suspension, or revocation of the
dealer’s license.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS
NEW BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS P.0. BOX BUSINESS TELEPHONE
CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

NEW VENDOR’S NUMBER ( IF APPLICABLE)
Contact your County Auditor to determine if a new vendor’s number is required.

ADD OR REMOVE P.O. BOX

*P.0. BOX [] ADD

P.O. BOX [] REMOVE

*Must be within the same city and zip code of the physical address. P.O. Box change only does not require an inspection.
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QUESTIONS RELATED TO DEALERSHIP LOCATION

I, as owner, partner, president, member, trustee, or principal owner agree to answer each of the following questions
truthfully to the best of my knowledge. | acknowledge responsibility for any misrepresentation on behalf of all
persons listed in the ownership information section.

[] Yes [] No

1. Does the business listed on this application have a net worth of at least seventy five thousand ($75,000) dollars?

No dealer shall be issued a license or permitted to operate under a license unless the dealer has a net
worth (Net Worth = Assets minus Liabilities) in the sum of $75,000 and must be verifiable upon request of
the Registrar.

Net worth MUST be maintained during the entire period for which the license is held.

] Yes ] No

[] Yes [] No

. Does the established place of business include a display lot of at least three thousand five hundred (3,500) square

feet, not including driveways or office, and have adequate ground cover of a hard surface (gravel, concrete, etc.)
that is free of the collection of dust, mud, water, or other unsightly conditions?

. Is the dealership’s established place of business being used exclusively for the purpose of offering for sale,

displaying for sale, dealing in motor vehicles and is identifiable as a motor vehicle dealership?

A dealership may be considered used exclusively for the purpose of dealing in motor vehicles, even though certain
departments are maintained there, provided that those departments are part of the dealership and are operated in
support of the dealership. Those departments may include, but not limited to, parts, service, paint, and repair.

] Yes [] No

. Is the established place of business separated with a permanent physical barrier from any other unrelated

business, primary service facility or residence, including a business operating from the building in which the office
is housed and / or any other building on the proposed location?

A permanent physical barrier is a fixture or feature of the property that distinguishes the display lot or area
from the residences or other business, and is comprised of metal, brick, stone, concrete, wood, heavy
support cable, landscaping, curbing, or other comparable feature that create a distinct space for the
display lot. (O.A.C. 4501:1-03-08)

If no requirement is able to be met, please refer to the dealer licensing Web site, available licenses, permits &
licenses issued (used motor vehicle dealer section) for further instruction.

The separation MUST be maintained as approved during the entire period for which license is held.

] Yes ] No

. To your knowledge, was the proposed business location previously occupied by another licensed motor vehicle dealer?

If “yes”, give the business name, if available.

] Yes ] No

. Are you or do you intend on sharing the proposed business location with another licensed motor vehicle dealer?

* If “yes”, give the business name.

(*A Certificate of Compliance form (BMV 4347) must be submitted with this application)

] Yes ] No

. Is there a permanent office of at least a contiguous one hundred eighty (180) square feet with walls of a hard

surface, of usable office area that is located on the display lot and kept in a neat and orderly fashion?

The law requires that the office incudes adequate lighting, electrical service, heating, and ventilation that is secure
and safe, at minimum a desk, three (3) chairs, and a filing cabinet or similar furnishings that create an environment
conducive to transacting business, and facilitating the storage of records.

[] Yes [] No

. Is there a sign that displays the exact registered business name and any registered fictitious or trade names as

filed with the Secretary of State?

The law requires that the letters be no less than six (6) inches high, and that the sign be permanent, properly
maintained, and prominently displayed by the entrance of the office, if not visible from the public roadway.

] Yes ] No

. In addition to the established place of business is there an expanded display lot?

NOTE: The expanded display lot is a separate lot that must be two thousand (2,000) square feet of a hard surface
that is adjacent to or within two hundred (200) feet of the right-of-way of the dealership’s established place of
business, and includes a prominently displayed, permanent sign in the exact business name in which the
application is made, with lettering at least six (6) inches high. All transactions related to the sale of motor vehicles
shall be conducted at the principal place of business.
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DEALERSHIP BUSINESS AFFIRMATION

INITIAL
| affirm that as required in Chapter 4517 of the R.C. and Chapter 4501:1-3 of the Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.), will
adhere to all provisions listed below upon issuance and for the duration of the license. Failure to maintain compliance with
such provisions may be immediately referred to the Motor Vehicle Dealers Board for possible suspension or revocation of
the license.
1. All records of sales transactions, mileage disclosure statements, or temporary tag records (if applicable), will be
maintained for three years and available upon request of the registrar or his authorized agent.
2. The dealer permit will be posted in a conspicuous place and a current list of salespersons will be available upon
request.
3. The business hours will be maintained and legibly posted in a conspicuous place near the entrance of the office.
4. The office will be staffed by an owner or salesperson that holds a license under Chapter 4517 of the R.C. during the
posted business hours for the entire time the license is held.
5. A business telephone will be in service at all times and answered in the dealership’s name. The business telephone
number will be legibly posted in a conspicuous place in public view.
PHOTOGRAPHS
Required at the time of application, the applicant must provide clear photographs via mail or e-mail (JPG format) of the location showing:
(1) the display lot (3,500 Sq. Ft.)
(2) the permanent separation from another business and/or residence
(3) the office (inside and outside)
(4) the sign with the business name, including any registered trade names
(5) the posted business hours
(6) the posted business telephone number

(7)

the expanded display lot (if applicable)

PHOTOS MAY BE SUBMITTED BY MAIL WITH THE APPLICATION OR BY E-MAIL TO
dealerphotos@dps.ohio.qgov

Dealers must file application within fifteen (15) days after any change of status to
personnel of owners, name change, and relocation of the business pursuant to

R.C. 4517.23.
Make checks payable to “Ohio Treasurer Of State.” FEES
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER PERMIT (REQUIRED) $ 2.00
AMENDED REGISTRATION CARDS MASTER PLATE + ADDITIONAL PLATES  $1.00 x $
(REQUIRED, IF ISSUED LICENSE PLATES)
GRAND TOTAL FEE $
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It is understood that at the discretion of the Registrar, a physical inspection will be performed by BMV Investigations prior to or after the
issuance of the license and at any given time during the period which the license is held.

| understand that if the licensed location fails to meet any of the requirements or fails to maintain compliance, it will immediately be
referred to the Motor Vehicle Dealers Board for possible suspension or revocation of the license

| understand that the registrar of motor vehicles must be notified if there is a change of status at the licensed location, including but not
limited to, personnel of ownership, relocation of the place of business, posted business hours, and business telephone number.

| affirm that the motor vehicles owned by this business will be insured or have other financial responsibility coverage, will not be operated
without financial responsibility coverage and will not be used as commercial vehicles unless so registered.

| as an authorized representative of the business entity or sole proprietor, acknowledge that all information in the forgoing
application and in any additional documentation is true and correct.

PRINTED OR TYPED NAME OF SIGNER TITLE
SIGNATURE (OWNER, PARTNER, PRESIDENT, MEMBER, TRUSTEE, OR PRINCIPAL OWNER) DATE OF APPLICATION
X
NOTARY
Sworn to and subscribed in my presence this ___ day of , 20 in County,
State of
(Notary Seal)
Signature of Notary Public X My commission expires

RETURN THE COMPLETED APPLICATION, PHOTOS,
OTHER SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, AND FEES TO:

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Attention: Dealer Licensing Section
P.O. Box 16521
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521

For additional information and laws visit our Web site at www.ohioautodealers.com.
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