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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES  

 
DUPLICATE REGISTRATION CARD, TRANSFER, REPLACEMENT 

PLATES / VALIDATION STICKER APPLICATION 

 
 

TYPE OR PRINT  
Read instructions before completing this document  
CHECK ONE:  

 Transfer (Submit original certificate of title)  Replacement Plate(s) # of Plates   1    2 
 Duplicate Registration w/Validation Sticker  Retain Current Number   Receive a New Number 
 Duplicate Registration Only (Optional with replacement or exchange request) 

PLATE(S) WERE 
  STOLEN  LOST  DAMAGED 
REGISTRATION INFORMATION FOUND ON OHIO REGISTRATION CARD 
OHIO LICENSE PLATE # 
      

EXPIRATION DATE 
      

OH COUNTY OF RESIDENCE 
      

VEHICLE INFORMATION FROM OHIO CERTIFICATE / MEMORANDUM TITLE 
DATE VEH PURCHASED 
      

VEH YEAR  
          

MAKE 
      

TYPE (VEH) 
      

VEH SERIAL # 
      

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE # 
      
 

ODOMETER 
      

COLOR 
      

OWNER INFORMATION 
OWNER NAME 
      

VEHICLE OWNERSHIP 
 SINGLE  JOINT  LEASED  COMPANY 

SSN / DL / TAX ID # 
      

DAYTIME PHONE # 
      

E-MAIL ADDRESS (used for correspondences only) 
      

OHIO ADDRESS 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
OHIO 

ZIP CODE 
      

JOINT OWNER / BUSINESS / LESSEE NAME 
      

SSN / DL / TAX ID # 
      

BUSINESS / LESSOR ADDRESS 
      
 

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

IS YOUR LICENSE PLATE REGISTRATION UNDER SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION UNDER OHIO FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW?  
 YES  NO 

IF REGISTRATION OR PLATES ARE TO BE MAILED TO A DIFFERENT ADDRESS FROM THAT SHOWN ABOVE, FILL IN THE FOLLOWING: 
ADDRESS 
      
 

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 
YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DRIVER LICENSE IF YOU DRIVE WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER ACCEPTABLE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COVERAGE 
 

• In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) coverage. 
 

• It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner’s vehicle without FR coverage. 
 

• PROOF OF COVERAGE IS REQUIRED: • Whenever a police officer issues a traffic ticket • At all vehicle inspection stops • Upon traffic court appearances. 
 

• ANY DRIVER OR OWNER WHO FAILS TO SHOW PROOF OF INSURANCE OR OTHER COVERAGE WILL: • Lose his or her driver license until requirements are met 
on first offense, ONE YEAR on second offense and TWO YEARS on additional offenses • Lose his or her license plates and vehicle registration •  Pay reinstatement fees 
of $40.00 for first offense, $300.00 for second offense, $600.00 for third and subsequent offenses • Pay a $50.00 penalty for any failure to surrender his or her driver 
license, license plates, or registration AND • Be required to maintain special FR coverage (“High-risk” insurance or equivalent) on file with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
(BMV) for THREE or FIVE YEARS. 

 

• ONCE THIS SUSPENSION IS IN EFFECT: Any driver or owner who violates the suspension will have his or her vehicle immobilized and his or her license plates 
confiscated for at least 30 DAYS first offense and 60 DAYS second offense. For third or subsequent offenses, the vehicle will be forfeited and sold and the person will not 
be permitted to register any motor vehicle in Ohio for FIVE YEARS. 

 

• IF YOU ARE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER FR COVERAGE: In addition to all the penalties listed above, you may have • A 
SECURITY SUSPENSION for TWO YEARS or more and • A JUDGMENT SUSPENSION INDEFINITELY (until all damages have been satisfied).  

 

• THESE PENALTIES ARE IN ADDITION TO ANY FINES OR PENALTIES IMPOSED BY A COURT OF LAW. 
 

• WARNING: THESE LAWS DO NOT PREVENT THE POSSIBILITY THAT YOU MAY BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH A PERSON WHO HAS NO INSURANCE 
OR OTHER FR COVERAGE. 

• WHEN REQUIRED, PROOF OF COVERAGE MAY BE SHOWN BY ANY OF THE FOLLOWING: • AN INSURANCE POLICY showing automobile liability insurance of at 
least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 injury two or more persons, and $25,000 property damage • AN INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD (same coverage) 
• A SURETY BOND OF $30,000 issued by any authorized surety company or insurance company • A BMV BOND SECURED BY REAL ESTATE having equity of at least 
$60,000 • A BMV CERTIFICATE FOR MONEY in the amount of $30,000 on deposit with the Registrar of Motor Vehicles • A BMV CERTIFICATE OF SELF-INSURANCE, 
available only to companies or persons who own at least twenty-six motor vehicles. 

 

I affirm that the owners (or lessees of leased vehicle) now have insurance or other proof of financial responsibility (FR Proof) covering this 
vehicle and will not operate or permit the operation of this vehicle without FR Proof; and will not be used as a commercial vehicle unless 
so registered. 
SIGNATURE 
X 

DATE 
      

WARNING: Applicant giving false information is subject to prosecution per Ohio Revised Code 2913.42. Application must be signed by 
the owner(s) as named on Certificate of Title. 

OVER 
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SUBMIT FEES: 
 *When transferring from a passenger vehicle to a non-commercial truck, additional fees may apply. If you have questions 
regarding fees please call (614) 752-7518, or refer to the Web site https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/doc-fees.aspx. 
**If you would like to receive two (2) plates, please include an additional $1.25. 

Vehicle Type Duplicate Registration with or 
 w/out validation sticker Replacement Plates** Transfer 

Passenger $6.00 $12.00** $6.00 
Motorcycle $6.00 $12.00** $6.00 
Non-commercial Truck 
(greater than ¾ ton [$84.50] and ¾ ton and less 
[$49.50] accordingly) 

$6.00 $12.00** $6.00 

Commercial Truck $6.00 $12.00** $6.00 
Non-commercial Trailer $6.00 $12.00** $6.00 
Commercial Trailer $6.00 $12.00** $6.00 

One Historical License Plate $6.00 $12.00** $6.00 

Replacement due to EPA 
noncompliance surrender/ 
confiscation 

 $8.25**  

Subtotal =            **       
Retain Current Stock Plate Number  $10.00**  
Add Postage + Based on Current Rates + Based on Current Rates + Based on Current Rates 
Add additional fees* +        +      **  +        

   = Total Fees Due:            **                                                                                        

You may make a non-refundable donation to the children’s Save Our Sight fund by checking the box below and entering 
the amount you wish to donate. Add this to your total fees due. For more information on the children’s Save Our Sight fund, 
please call 1-800-755-GROW (4769). 

 Yes, I would like to donate to the children’s Save Our Sight fund. I would like to donate $       
 
Become an organ, eye, and tissue donor:    Yes      No    
(Please do not answer if already registered) 
 
Visit https://bmvonline.dps.ohio.gov/bmvonline/dl/organdonor/agreement for more information regarding organ donor registration. 
 
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

1. Enclose payment. Make check or money order payable to: OHIO TREASURER OF STATE 
2. Mail to: 

OHIO BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Attention: Registration Support Services 
P.O. Box 16521 
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521 

3. Please allow approximately four weeks for processing of your application. Failure to follow the instructions or 
submit proper fees may delay the processing of your application. 

4. Call the BMV, Registration Support Services, if you have questions in regards to completing this application,  
(614) 752-7518 

5. Current original EPA Inspection Certificate or exemption FORM if required. 
All vehicles up to 25 years old and owned by residents of the following counties are required to be tested: 
Cuyahoga  Lake  Medina  Summit  Geauga  Lorain  Portage 

6. If registering a vehicle which is not a passenger or motorcycle for the first time, submit a BMV 5712. 

7. If this is a leased vehicle, you must ALSO submit a Power of Attorney form and a copy of the lease agreement 
signed by the lease company (photocopies accepted; originals not returned) or your application will be returned 
to you unprocessed, unless electronically submitted. 

 

https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/doc-fees.aspx
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fbmvonline.dps.ohio.gov%2Fbmvonline%2Fdl%2Forgandonor%2Fagreement&data=05%7C01%7Crbare%40dps.ohio.gov%7Cb843203d7e0d4581903208db57cfd6a8%7C50f8fcc494d84f0784eb36ed57c7c8a2%7C0%7C0%7C638200322390870618%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=naPix0tA4h7naZmsHJ7z8TX8RpnzZxfW3Xj%2BdQ7AZ7U%3D&reserved=0

