
BMV 4826 3/24 [760-0616]   Page 1 of 2 RESTRICTED  
 

BMV OR DEPUTY USE ONLY OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 
APPLICATION FOR REMOVABLE WINDSHIELD 

PLACARDS 
 

SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 

NOTE: A PRESCRIPTION 
FROM YOUR HEALTH CARE 

PROVIDER MUST BE 
SUBMITTED WITH THIS 

APPLICATION. 
(Instructions are on page 2.) 

PLACARD NUMBER 
      

ISSUE DATE 
      

Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) 4503.44 allows an applicant to obtain one removable windshield placard. A person with a disability that limits 
or impairs the ability to walk is entitled to request one additional placard that may be issued at the discretion of the Registrar. 
Consideration will be given only if the person applies separately for an additional placard and states the reason why the additional 
placard is necessary (additional fees apply). Please allow 10-15 business days for processing if the form is submitted by mail. 

INDICATE TYPE OF PLACARD REQUESTED 

NOTE: Placard expiration date is determined by the length of time indicated on the prescription 

Temporary Placard  

 $5.00 

(Duration: 6 months or less) 

Standard Placard  

 $5.00 

(Duration: Over 6 months and up to 10 years)  
(NOTE: Organizations are only eligible for a Standard 

Placard) 

Permanent Placard (No Expiration) 

 $15.00 

 

Renewal (Standard Placard) 

 $5.00 

(Do not renew more than 90 days from 
expiration date) 

Replacement Placard 

 $5.00 Temporary/Standard   

 $15.00 Permanent 

Reason:  Lost     Damaged     Stolen 

Additional Placard 

 $5.00 Temporary/Standard  

 $15.00 Permanent 

List Reason:       

Previous Placard Number       (applies only to renewal or replacement) 
You may make a non-refundable donation to Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities (OOD) by checking the box 
below and entering the amount you wish to donate.  
For more information, please visit https://ood.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ood/about-us/resources/donations-to-ood. 

 I would like to donate $       to the Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities. Add this to your total fees due. 
TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 
NAME OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 
      
STREET ADDRESS 
      
CITY 
      

STATE 
   

ZIP CODE 
      

COUNTY 
      

DL / ID / SSN OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 
      

TELEPHONE NUMBER 
      

SIGNATURE OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY, NEXT OF KIN, OR CARE PROVIDER 

X 
DATE SIGNED 

      
APPLICATION BY AN ORGANIZATION 

This is to certify that we are a private organization or corporation or any governmental board, agency, department, division, or office, 
that, as part of its business or program, transports people with disabilities (limited or impaired ability to walk) on a regular basis in a 
motor vehicle that has not been altered for the purpose of providing it with special equipment for use by people with disabilities. 
NAME OF AUTHORIZED AGENT / OFFICER 
      

TITLE / POSITION 
      

NAME OF ORGANIZATION 
      

FEDERAL TAX ID / CHARTER NUMBER 
      

STREET ADDRESS 
      
CITY 
      

STATE 
   

ZIP CODE 
      

TELEPHONE NUMBER 
      

SERVICE PROVIDED FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES 
      
 
 
  

SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED AGENT / OFFICER 

X 
  

DATE SIGNED 

      
Warning: Knowingly making a false statement on this form constitutes falsification, a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by 
criminal fines and imprisonment, and also may result in civil liability (R.C. 2921.13). 
   

https://ood.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ood/about-us/resources/donations-to-ood
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CERTIFICATION FOR PRESCRIPTION (R.C. 4503.44) 
NOTE: A PRESCRIPTION FROM YOUR HEALTH CARE PROVIDER MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION. 

1. Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest. 
2. Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, 

cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or 
other assistive device.  

3. Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the 
person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one 
second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, 
or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty millimeters of 
mercury on room air at rest. 

4. Uses portable oxygen. 
5. Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s 

functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or 
Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart 
Association. 

6. Is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, 
neurological, or orthopedic condition. 

7. Is blind, legally blind, or severely visually impaired. 

THE PRESCRIPTION MUST STATE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION 
Original prescriptions required (copies are not acceptable) 

1. Name of the person with the disability. 
2. Indicate you are applying for a removable windshield placard 

or similar wording. 
3. The health care provider must sign and date the prescription. 

Pursuant to R.C. 4503.44(A)(3), health care provider means 
“a physician, physician assistant, advanced practice nurse, 
optometrist, or chiropractor as defined in this section.” 

4. Indicate the duration the disability is expected to last. The 
health care provider must specify an ending date or indicate 
the disability is permanent. Placards expire on the date 
specified by the health care provider. 

5. The application will be rejected if the prescription requirements 
are not met. 

INSTRUCTIONS 
NOTE: Placard must be hung on the rear-view mirror when the vehicle is parked (Ohio Administrative Code 4501:1-7-02). 

Remove placard when driving. 
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: 
I.  TO OBTAIN A PLACARD FOR THE PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 

A. The application for the removable windshield placard must be completed in the name of the person with a disability and signed. 
B. Proof of the disability must be submitted. 

1. Attach an original prescription (see above for prescription requirements). 
2. To apply for a replacement or one additional placard, complete the top portion of this application. A new prescription is not 

required for replacements or additional placards. Replacement and additional placards expire the same date as the initial 
placard regardless of issue date. Limit of two (2) placards per person. 

II.  TO OBTAIN A PLACARD FOR AN ORGANIZATION 
A. An organization may obtain a removable windshield placard if it transports individuals with disabilities on a regular basis in a 

motor vehicle that has not been altered for the purpose of providing it with special equipment for use by persons with 
disabilities. 
1. The application must be completed in the name of the organization and signed by an authorized agent/officer. 
2. To apply for a replacement or one additional placard, complete the top portion of this application. Replacement and 

additional placards expire the same date as the initial placard regardless of issue date. Limit of two (2) placards per 
application. 

 
Make checks payable to, Ohio Treasurer of State. 

 
Take the completed application and fee(s) to any local Deputy Registrar agency or mail to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 

Attn.: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Registration Support Services, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521.  
For questions or concerns regarding the application process, contact our office at (844) 644-6268. 

 
FINES AND PENALTIES 

In accordance with R.C. 4511.69, no person shall stop, stand, or park a motor vehicle at clearly marked accessible parking locations 
provided in or on privately owned parking lots, parking garages, or parking areas designated for persons with disabilities without the 
vehicle being operated by or transporting such person and displaying a removable windshield placard or accessible license plates. 
Whoever violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. The fine is at least $250.00, but not more than $500.00, is not punishable with 
imprisonment, and is not a criminal offense. 
In accordance with R.C. 4731.481 and 4734.161, no health care provider shall furnish a prescription to a person to enable the person to 
obtain a removable windshield placard or accessible license plates if they do not meet the criteria in R.C. 4503.44. Nor shall any health 
care provider provide the person with a prescription misrepresenting the expected length of disability. These offenses are 
misdemeanors of the first degree and are punishable by imprisonment of not more than six months, a fine of not more than $1,000, or 
both, and sanctions by the State Medical Board, the Chiropractic Examining Board or the Board of Nursing respectively. 
In accordance with R.C. 4503.44, no person or organization shall misrepresent themselves as eligible for a removable windshield 
placard or accessible license plates if they are not eligible according to the guidelines of this section. The penalty for this offense is 
confiscation of the placard or license plates and the revocation of privileges to obtain a removable windshield placard or accessible 
license plates. 
 


