Motorcycle Laws and Regulations A RESOURCE FOR MOTORCYCLISTS

Check this list prepared by the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Ohio Program to make sure both operator and motorcycle are in compliance with the Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) and the Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.).

MOTORCYCLE OPERATORS

- Must wear helmet first year of endorsement, or if under age 18. R.C. 4511.53
- Must have a valid Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) or a motorcycle endorsement on the driver license; R.C. 4510.12
- Must register their vehicles and have a valid license plate; R.C. 4503.11
- Must have and carry proof of insurance liability coverage for property damage and / or injury; R.C. 4509.101
- Must wear eye protection (eye glasses, goggles or face shield on helmet) R.C. 4511.53
- May use a transparent windscreen or windshield, permanently attached to the motorcycle forward to the operator and of such height, construction, and durability as to actually protect the operator and passenger as the eye protection required by R.C. 4511.53, O.A.C. 4501-17-04
- Must comply with all permit restrictions (R.C.4511.53), if riding with a temporary motorcycle permit, including:
 - No passengers;
 - Daylight hours only;
 - On any limited access highway (or congested roadway eff. 1/1/17);
 - Helmet and eye protection required;
 - Permit is valid one year from date of issue.
- Must comply with certain safety requirements, if under age 18, including:
 - Taking an approved motorcycle basic rider training program; R.C. 4507.21(G)
 - Wearing approved protective headgear (helmet).
 R.C. 4511.53
- May wear earphones or earplugs for hearing protection while operating a motorcycle. R.C. 4511.84

MOTORCYCLE EQUIPMENT

- Handlebars that do not rise higher than the shoulders of the operator when seated on the operator's seat or saddle; R.C. 4511.53
- A rearview mirror, horn and muffler. R.C. 4513.21, 4513.22, and 4513.23
- At least one and not more than two headlights with high and low beams. R.C. 4513.04

- One red tail light, including brake or stop lamp. R.C. 4513.05, 4513.071
- At least one brake, front or rear, which may be operated by hand or foot. R.C. 4513.20
- Must have turn signals on motorcycles manufactured after 01/01/68. R.C. 4513.261

MOTORCYCLE RULES

- The operator may ride only on a permanent, regular seat. R.C. 4511.53(B)
- Passengers must ride upon a firmly attached seat or saddle. R.C. 4511.53(B)
- Operator and passengers must face forward with one leg on either side of the motorcycle. R.C. 4511.53
- Not more than two motorcycles may ride side-by-side in one lane. R.C. 4511.55(B)
- Motorcycle operators are entitled to full use of the traffic lane and have all the rights and responsibilities of any driver.
- All aspects of the law pertaining to driving under the influence of drugs and / or alcohol apply to motorcycle operators. R.C. 4511.19

R.C. 4510.12 - Operating a Motorcycle without a Permit or Endorsement

First Offense (Unclassified Misdemeanor)

- Maximum \$1000 fine and / or community service Second Offense (Misdemeanor 1)
- Maximum \$1000 fine and / or maximum 6 months in jail

The Motorcycle Ohio safety training program encourages motorcyclists to comply with state regulations to assure that everyone on Ohio's roads has a safe and enjoyable ride.

For more information about Motorcycle Ohio please visit: www.motorcycle.ohio.gov or call (800) 837-4337

Ohio Department of Public Safety



