

Speech and Hearing Professionals Board



CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECKS ARE REQUIRED FOR ALL INITIAL LICENSES

Ohio Revised Code Sections 4747.051 and 4753.061 of the Ohio Revised Code requires all individuals applying for an initial license issued by the Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OHIO RESIDENTS

Applicants residing in Ohio or out of the state are required to utilize one of the eighty-eight Ohio country sheriffs' offices or a WebCheck provider to electronically submit fingerprints to BCI and FBI.

A list of other WebCheck vendors in Ohio, arranged by county, is available online at: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Business/Services-for-Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing

When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on this web page, please note that you must use the services of a vendor that has "BCI and FBI" listed after the vendor's name as only these entities participate in "National WebCheck."

Contact the WebCheck (BCI & FBI) provider agency to determine the total fee(s) and the accepted method(s) of payment. Fees include: BCI (\$22), plus FBI (\$25.25), and some agencies may charge a processing fee (e.g. \$5-\$40). Also, verify if any additional materials are needed (e.g. type of valid photo id). Note, some agencies have restricted hours and may require you to schedule an appointment.

You need both the BCI and FBI records check for initial licensure. The Board cannot complete the processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from both the BCI and FBI. By law, BCI has up to 30 days to process background check results; however, the Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submitted via WebCheck within 7 to 10 business days for "no hit" reports. A report with a legal history to consider may take longer, as BCI will seek to confirm adverse data reported and may be required to remove data not subject to verification.

Instructions for Criminal Records Check - Ohio Residents

- Identify an Ohio county sheriff's office or a WebCheck provider and contact that location for specific instructions.
- 2. Request both a BCI and FBI criminal records check.
- 3. Pay the required fees directly to the Webcheck (BCI & FBI) provider.
- 4. Request the "Direct Copy" selection is made notating the electronic records should be submitted directly to the Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board.
- 5. Select reason code, "Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board License Applicant R.C. 4747.051" if you're applying for a hearing aid dealers or fitters license.
- 6. Select reason code, "Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board License Applicant R.C. 4753.061 if you're applying for an audiology, speech-language pathology, conditional speech-language pathology, audiology aide, or speech-language pathology aide license.

Instructions for Criminal Records Check - Out of State Residents

Out-of-state applicants residing within a one-hour travel (driving time) of Ohio are strongly encouraged to follow the "WebCheck" instructions for Ohio residents above, visit the closest Ohio county sheriff's office or a National WebCheck provider within Ohio to complete your electronic criminal records check at that facility. If you reside more than seventy five miles from Ohio or unable to comply with the in-person WebCheck protocol, please contact the licensure board in writing by e-mail at Board@shp.ohio.gov or by fax at (614) 995-2286 to request that the Board mail to you the appropriate forms (paper finger print cards and instructions) to have your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency in your community outside Ohio. The paper finger print cards and fee will be sent directly to BCI to process. Please note that this paper finger print protocol will take additional time to process.