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General Instructions 
 
The Juvenile Sexual Offense Recidivism Risk Assessment Tool – II (JSORRAT–II) is an actuarial 
sexual recidivism risk assessment tool designed for male juveniles between ages 12.00 and 17.99 
who have been adjudicated guilty for a sexual offense. It is not designed for juveniles younger than 
age 12 or whose only sexual offending adjudication(s) occurred when the juvenile was less than 12-
years-old. Offense-related behavior prior to age 12 may be used only if the juvenile was adjudicated 
guilty for a sexual offense on or after his 12th birth date. Furthermore, the JSORRAT-II has not been 
validated to provide estimates of risk to sexually reoffend beyond age 18, and consequently, all 
assessments expire at age 18.  
 
The JSORRAT-II may be used experimentally in any state to tentatively inform treatment, 
programming, and other similar clinical decisions.  Use of the JSORRAT-II to advise forensic 
decisions (e.g., registration, community notification, civil commitment) should be limited to states in 
which it has been validated or is currently being validated (as of October 2009, this included Utah, 
Iowa, California, and Georgia) until further validation evidence exists, particularly in jurisdictions 
with different demographic and judicial processes.  
 
 The JSORRAT–II is scored based on a juvenile justice case file review, so it is critical that 

the entire case file be reviewed before scoring the JSORRAT–II. 
 
 Use only official documents in the case file as data sources in scoring the JSORRAT–II. Do 

not use any information gained from sources external to the case file. 
 
 Score all items unless there is insufficient data in the file for even a reasonable 

approximation.  Items that cannot be scored because of missing data should be counted as a 
zero when computing the total score for the JSORRAT–II. 

 
 For items 1 through 6, only sexual offenses for which the juvenile was charged are counted.  

Sexual offenses are defined as all sexual offenses by statute and include charges for 
attempted sexual offenses and conspiracy to commit a sexual offense. 
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 Item 1 additionally requires that the sexual offense be adjudicated guilty 
 

 Item 5 additionally requires that the sexual offense charge be for a felony-level sexual 
offense. For offenses committed in states that do not differentiate between misdemeanor- 
and felony-level sexual offenses for juveniles, consider the offense a felony any time the 
offending behavior involved sexual contact (“hands-on”) between the juvenile and victim 
or forced sexual contact between two or more victims. 

 

Training 
 

Reading through this manual will give readers a general idea about the general scoring guidelines of 
the JSORRAT-II. However, in order to reliably score the tool, the authors recommend attending 
training sessions, which typically consist of 1-day to 1.5-day workshops and involve both didactic 
instruction and the supervised scoring and discussion of practice cases. 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 1 
 
Number of adjudications for sexual offenses, including the current adjudication: 
 
 One ...................................................................... 0 
 Two ...................................................................... 1 
 Three .................................................................... 2 
 Four or More ........................................................ 3 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Count all sexual offense charges for which the juvenile was adjudicated guilty prior to age 18. 
Include the most recent (index) sexual offense in this count. Include all charges for which the 
juvenile plead or was adjudicated (convicted) guilty, regardless of level (e.g., misdemeanor, felony). 
Finally, include all adjudications and convictions occurring in juvenile or adult court, so long as the 
juvenile was under age 18 at the time of the adjudication.  Deferred judgments, deferred sentences, 
etc. are counted as adjudications.   

 
Discussion 

 
This item is based on a simple count of the official judicial adjudications for sexual offenses prior to 
age 18. The number of charge or adjudication dates, discrete events, or victims is not relevant to this 
item, only the number of adjudications for sexual offenses. 
 
Include all adjudications for attempted sexual offenses or for conspiracy to commit a sexual offense, 
provided the adjudication occurs prior to age 18. Do not count adjudications for non-sexual offenses, 
even in cases where a sexual offense was originally levied and pled down to the non-sexual offense. 
Do not count Child Protective Services (or state equivalent) cases of founded sexual abuse 
perpetrated by juvenile. A juvenile justice adjudication or conviction in adult court is required to be 
counted for this item. 

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile has a record of one misdemeanor-level adjudication for sexually lewd behavior 

and one felony-level adjudication for sexual abuse of a child less than age 14.  Count as two 
adjudications, score as 1 (note that the level of charge is irrelevant for this item). 

 
2. A juvenile was charged with four counts of felony-level sexual abuse of a child, but reached 

a plea agreement. According to the terms of the plea, he was adjudicated guilty for only two 
counts.  Count as two adjudications, score as 1 (note that this item focuses on 
adjudications, as opposed to charges). 
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3. A juvenile was charged with four counts of felony-level sexual abuse of a child, but reached 
a plea agreement. According to the terms of the plea, he was adjudicated guilty for one 
sexual abuse charge and one simple assault charge.  Count as one adjudication, score as 0 
(note that the non-sexual assault adjudication is not counted despite being reached as a 
result of a plea agreement where the original charge was for a sexual offense – this 
offense would be counted on Items 2-6, however, because the charge was for a sexual 
offense ). 

 
4. A juvenile was adjudicated guilty for one felony-level sexual abuse of a child, but during the 

course of treatment he disclosed three other offenses. None of the additional offenses were 
charged or adjudicated.  Count as one adjudication, score as 0 (note that only official 
adjudications are counted for this item). 
 

5. A juvenile was adjudicated guilty for one felony-level sexual abuse of a child, but he has a 
Child Protective Services record of founded sexual abuse in his file that indicates he 
perpetrated sexual abuse on his sister when he was seven-years-old.  Count as one 
adjudication, score as 0 (note that Child Protective Services reports of founded sexual 
abuse do not count as an official adjudication for this item). 

 
6. A juvenile has a record of one felony-level adjudication based on the sexual assault of three 

victims.  Count as one adjudication, score as 0 (note that the number of victims is 
irrelevant for this item). 

 
7. A juvenile was adjudicated guilty on three counts of felony-level sexual abuse. He was 

arrested and charged with sexually lewd behavior two years prior. However, that charge was 
dismissed.  Count as three adjudications, score as 2 (note that dismissed or dropped 
charges are not counted for this item). 

 
8. A juvenile was adjudicated guilty for two felony-level sexual offenses based on six discrete 

sexual molestations of the same victim.  Count as two adjudications, score as 1 (note that 
the number of sexual offending events is not counted for this item, only the number of 
adjudications). 
 

9. A juvenile was adjudicated guilty for one felony-level sexual abuse of a child charge, but 
records in the file indicate he was adjudicated for felony-level assault one year prior to the 
current adjudication. A police report from that assault specifies that the juvenile and his 
romantic partner were involved in a physical altercation at a party. Mutual friends separated 
them and police were called after the juvenile forced the victim to remove her pants and bend 
over a chair. Interview records from the victim specify that the juvenile “tried to rape” her.  
Count as one adjudication, score as 0 (note that even though police reports clearly specify 
the events that lead to the assault charge involved attempted sexual violence, the charge 
was adjudicated as a non-sexual offense -- if this was originally charged as a sexual 
offense, then it would be scored on Items 2-6, but not on Item 1.). 

 
10. A juvenile was adjudicated guilty on one count of misdemeanor-level lewd sexual behavior. 

He also has a prior adjudication for conspiracy to commit sexual assault.  Count as two 
adjudications, score as 1 (note that conspiracy to commit a sexual offense adjudications 
are counted for this item). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 2 
 
Number of different victims in charged sexual offenses: 
 
 One ...................................................................... 0 
 Two ...................................................................... 1 
 Three .................................................................... 2 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Count the number of discrete victims in charged sexual offenses perpetrated by the juvenile. Include 
victims from the current (index) sexual offense charge.  

 
Discussion 

 
The number of discrete victims is what is counted for this item. The number of charges, 
adjudications, or event contacts is not relevant. Include all victims in charged sexual offenses where 
sexual contact was made between the juvenile and the victim(s), even if the charge is plead down to 
a non-sexual charge. 
 
Do not count self-reported or alleged victims if the incident did not result in an official charge. 
 
If the juvenile was charged with an exposure offense in which a group of people witnessed the 
exposure, count that group of witnesses as only one victim for each such offense.  
 
For charges that involved sexual contact with one or more victims and other people observed the 
sexual act, count each observer only if they were forced by the sexual offender or an accomplice to 
observe the sexual behavior. If the viewing of the sexual behavior was inadvertent (e.g., entered a 
room where the sexual offense was being perpetrated), do not count the observer as a victim. 

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile was charged with misdemeanor-level lewdness after exposing his posterior to 

several cars passing him by. As many as 10 people witnessed this offense.  Count as one 
victim, score as 0 (note that a group in “hands-off” exposure charges are counted as one 
victim). 
 

2. A juvenile has two charges for exposing himself to a group of children on a playground and 
for exposing himself to another group of children at the library two months later.  Count as 
two victims and score as 1 (note that these are two discrete events and charges with only 
one victim counted for each event because both were “hands-off” exposure offenses). 

 
3. A juvenile was charged and adjudicated guilty for an incident in which the he fondled two 

children that he was babysitting.  Count as two victims, score as 1. 
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4. A juvenile has a record of four charges for “hands-on” sexual offenses against two different 
victims on multiple occasions.  Count as two victims, score as 1 (note that the number of 
events and charges are not counted for this item). 
 

5. A juvenile has a record of four charges for “hands-on” sexual offenses against four different 
victims. He received one charge for each victim. Two charges were eventually dropped due 
to a plea agreement.  Count as four victims, score as 2 (note that adjudications are not 
required for victims to be counted for this item). 

 
6. During the course of treatment, a juvenile divulged that he had two additional victims for 

which he was not charged. His only officially charged sexual offense involved one victim.  
Count as one victim, score as 0 (note that only victims in offenses that result in an official 
charge are counted). 

 
7. A juvenile was charged and adjudicated guilty for felony-level sexual abuse against a child. 

A police report states that while the sexual abuse was occurring, the victim’s four-year-old 
sister entered the room and observed the abuse.  Count as one victim, score as 0 (note that 
the observer was not forced to observe the sexual offending behavior). 

 
8. A juvenile was charged and adjudicated guilty for felony-level sexual abuse against a child. 

A police record states that while the juvenile was sexually abusing a victim, his accomplice 
forced the victim’s four-year-old sister to observe the abuse.  Count as two victims, score as 
1 (note that the observer was forced to observe the sexual offending behavior). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 3 
 
Length of sexual offending history based on the time between the charge date for 
the first sexual offense and the charge date for the most recent sexual offense: 
 
 Zero Time (only one charge date) ........................ 0 
 1 day to 5.99 Months ............................................ 1 
 6.00 to 11.99 Months ........................................... 2 
 12 or More Months ............................................... 3 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
This item reflects the duration of officially charged sexual offending behavior. Determine the dates 
of the juvenile’s first and most recent sexual offense charges. Calculate the number of months 
between the two dates without rounding. If the offender only has one official sexual offense charge 
or all charges were levied on the same day, score this item as zero.  

 
Discussion 

 
This item does not require that either the first or the last sexual offense charge be adjudicated guilty; 
only that sexual offense charges were levied. Do not count self-reported or alleged sexual offenses 
that did not result in an official charge. Even if two charges that were levied on different days are 
adjudicated on the same day, count the time between the two charge dates. 

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile only has one sexual offense charge.  Count as Zero Time, score as 0. 

 
2. A juvenile was charged for his first sexual offense November 6, 2001, and the date of his 

most recent sexual offense charge was April 30, 2002.  Count as 5 months and 24 days, 
score as 1. 
 

3. A juvenile received three charges for a sexual offending incident. All charges were levied on 
October 31, 2001.  Count as Zero Time, score as 0 (note that all charges were levied on the 
same date). 

 
4. A juvenile received two charges on June 5, 2003 for two sexual abuse incidents against his 

younger sibling. The dates of the offending incidents were May 15, 2003 and May 22, 2003.  
Count as Zero Time, score as 0 (note that this item only considers the time between charge 
dates). 

 
5. A juvenile was charged for his first sexual offense on June 4, 2002, but that charge did not 

result in an official adjudication. His only other sexual offense, which is his most recent 
offense, was charged on January 18, 2005.  Count as 31 months and 14 days, score as 3 
(note that this item does not require a charge be adjudicated guilty). 
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6. A juvenile self-reported a sexual offense that occurred in October 2003, but that sexual 

offense was never charged. His only other sexual offense that resulted in an official charge 
was his index offense, which was charged on July 17, 2004.  Count as zero months, score as 
0 (note that uncharged offenses are not counted in this item, so this juvenile only has one 
charged sexual offense). 

 
7. A juvenile was charged for a sexual offense on January 13, 2009. A week later (January 20) 

he was charged again for a sexual offense that resulted from a separate incident. Both charges 
were adjudicated guilty on the same day.  Count as 7 days, score as 1 (note that this item 
depends only on the difference between charge dates, not adjudication dates) 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 4 
 
Was the juvenile under any form of court-ordered supervision when he committed 
any sexual offense for which he was subsequently charged? 
 
 No ........................................................................ 0 
 Yes ....................................................................... 1 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Score “Yes” if the juvenile committed any sexual offense for which he was subsequently charged, 
including the current offense, while under some form of court-ordered supervision. Only a charge for 
a sexual offense committed while under supervision is necessary for a score of “Yes” on this item; 
adjudication is not required. This is a “threshold” item in that it only takes one offense, for which he 
was eventually charged, that occurs while under court-ordered supervision to be scored as “yes.”  
Court-ordered supervision includes probation or placement in a detention center, halfway house, or a 
treatment facility. It also includes that time awaiting a hearing on a charge that the juvenile has 
received. 

 
Discussion 

 
Note that court-ordered supervision can be related to any offense and does not have to be the result 
of previous sexual offense adjudications. The court-ordered supervision must, however, be a result 
of the offender’s own misconduct, as opposed to his parents’ misbehavior (e.g., court-ordered foster 
care), but the misconduct does not need to be related to a sexual offense.  
 
For this item, do not count self-reported sexual offenses that did not result in a formal charge, even if 
those offenses occurred while under supervision.  
 
The time between a charge and adjudication is considered supervised even if the offender is allowed 
to remain at home under his parent or legal guardian’s supervision. Out of home placement as part of 
a Child in Need of Assistance (CINA) adjudication only counts as supervised if the CINA was 
ordered as a result of the child’s own difficult behavior rather than his parents inadequacies or bad 
behavior. 
 
If any sexual offending behavior that later results in a formal charge occurred while under court-
ordered supervision, even if the charge is levied after the end of said supervision, score this item 
“Yes” because the timing requirement is that the offense itself occurred while under supervision. 

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile committed a misdemeanor-level sexual offense while on probation for a previous 

shoplifting offense. He was officially charged for the sexual offense.  Count as “Yes,” score 
as 1 (note that the court-ordered supervision does not have to be the result of a prior 
sexual offense). 
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2. While at a residential treatment facility, a juvenile committed a felony-level sexual offense 
against another resident and was subsequently charged for that offense. He was placed in the 
residential treatment facility by his parents to treat his self-injurious behavior.  Count as 
“No,” score as 0 (note that the treatment facility placement was voluntary and not court-
ordered). 

 
3. A juvenile was incarcerated in a juvenile detention facility after being adjudicated guilty for a 

felony-level assault charge. While incarcerated, he sexually assaulted a detention facility 
worker. Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note that court-ordered supervision does not have to be 
the result of a prior sexual offense). 

 
4. A juvenile was home on a weekend leave from a court-ordered, residential treatment facility. 

While home, he sexually abused his younger sibling. He was arrested, charged and returned 
to the residential treatment facility pending his adjudication hearing.  Count as “Yes,” score 
as 1 (note that even though the offending behavior did not occur in the court-ordered 
treatment facility the behavior occurred between the time of the court-order and the 
completion of the treatment). 

 
5. A juvenile self-reported committing sexual offenses while on probation for a previous sexual 

offense. However, none of these offenses were charged. Count as “No,” score as 0 (note 
that self-reported sexual offenses that did not result in an official charge are not counted 
on this item). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 5 
 
Were any sexual offenses that resulted in an official felony-level (“hands-on”)  
charge committed in a public place? 
 
 No ........................................................................ 0 
 Yes ....................................................................... 1 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Score “Yes” if the juvenile was charged for any felony-level (“hands-on”) sexual offense, including 
the current offense, where any part of the sexual activity occurred in a public place. A public place is 
defined as any area that is built and maintained for the general public, generally accessible by people 
in the community, or is open to the scrutiny of others. Examples of public places include schools, 
workplaces, parks, vacant lots, offenders or victim’s yards, public restrooms, and vehicles located in 
or moving through public places. Actual observation by others is not required for this item to be 
scored “Yes” – it is the designation of the space and not the absence or presence of others that 
determines whether or not a place is public.   Do not score “Yes” if the charged offense was a 
misdemeanor-level (“hands-off”) sexual offense. 
 

Discussion 
 
Note that anywhere in a treatment facility, group home, or detention center, including the offender’s 
bedroom, is considered a public place.  
 
Note that a “Yes” score requires that at least some sexual activity occur in a public place. Do not 
code “Yes” if none of the sexual activity occurred in public. For example, a victim may be 
kidnapped off a playground (public place) and driven to the offender’s home, where the actual 
sexual activity occurs.  This offense would be coded as “No” because the sexual activity occurred in 
the offender’s home. 
 
Note that sexual activity that occurs in the yard of private property generally considered a “public 
place” because it is generally open to the scrutiny of others.  Front yards are virtually always scored 
as a public place, as would back yards unless a case can be made that it is essentially a compound.   
Again, actual observation by others is not required for this item to be scored “Yes.”  For example, 
sexual abuse committed on the front yard of the offender’s home, even if unobserved, would be 
considered a “public place” because it is generally open or observable space.    
 
Note that the “hands-on” (contact) sexual activity must result in a felony-level charge. In the event 
that a state does not levee misdemeanor- or felony-level charges at juveniles, consider all “hands-on” 
sexual offenses to be felony-level.  
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Examples 
 

1. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual assault on a victim in a restroom at a park. 
No one observed the assault.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note that being observed in a 
public place is not required). 

 
2. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual assault after luring the victim from a 

playground into his home with the promise of playing video games. The actual assault 
occurred in the home.  Count as “No,” score as 0 (note that all of the sexual activity 
occurred in the perpetrator’s home). 

 
3. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse of a child for an offense that occurred 

in the yard of a friend’s house.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note that offenses occurring in 
yards of  private homes count as occurring in “public” except in the exceptionally rare 
cases when it can be documented that the yard is completely unobservable in principle. 

 
4. A juvenile’s record indicates he was charged and adjudicated guilty for a sexual offense in 

another state, prior to moving to his current residence. That state does not specify 
misdemeanor- or felony-level charges for juvenile offenders. However, a police report 
indicates that the juvenile penetrated the vagina of the alleged victim while in the back of a 
car in a city park.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note that “hands-on” offenses count as 
felony-level charges in states that do not differentiate misdemeanor- and felony-level 
charges for juveniles). 
 

5. A juvenile was charged for felony-level sexual abuse for an offense that occurred in the back 
seat of his car. The car was parked in his parent’s garage and the garage door was down. 
Count as “No,” score as 0 (note that, though the sexual behavior occurred in a car, the car 
was located on private property in an area that was not open to the scrutiny of the public). 

 
6. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse for fondling a female victim on a 

playground. As part of a plea deal, the charge was reduced to a misdemeanor.  Count as 
“Yes,” score as 1 (note that the charge level is what is relevant for this item). 

 
7. A juvenile was charged with forcible sexual assault after molesting another resident in an 

inpatient treatment unit.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note that all areas of a treatment or 
correctional facility are considered public places). 

 
8. A juvenile was charged for a misdemeanor-level exposure offense (mooning) while at an 

outdoor public swimming pool.  Count as “No,” score as 0 (note that only felony-level 
(“hands-on”) sexual offenses are counted on this item). 

 
9. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse for an offense occurring in an 

apartment complex corridor.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note that although an apartment 
unit itself is a private place, the common corridor is a public place). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 6 
 
Did the juvenile engage in deception or grooming of the victim prior to any charged 
sexual offense? 
 
 No ........................................................................ 0 
 Yes ....................................................................... 1 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Score “Yes” if the juvenile was charged for any sexual offense, including the current offense, in 
which he used deception and/or grooming to facilitate the commission of the offense. Deception may 
include the juvenile misrepresenting his identity, the statements of an authority figure, or his 
responsibilities vis a vis the victim. Grooming includes patterned behavior to access/engage the 
victim through play activities, verbal enticements, or bribery. 
 

Discussion 
 
In order to score this item, descriptions of the events leading up to the sexual offense are required. 
Probably the best source of this information comes from police reports and interviews with the 
juvenile, accomplices, witnesses, and victims. Because reports of the events of any sexual offense 
may differ from person to person, convergence from two or more sources should be viewed as 
credible. For example, if an accomplice and the victim report that the juvenile bribed the victim and 
the juvenile claimed the sexual act was consensual, the convergence of two reports on the act of 
bribery should be viewed as credible. In the event that there are only two sources of information 
about the offending incident in the file and both report contradictory details (one satisfying the 
criteria for this item and the other contradicting deception and grooming), generally count this item 
as “no” unless the report contradicting the presence of deception or grooming clearly is not credible 
or if the juvenile freely admits to deception or grooming.    
 
Judgments about whether or not deception or grooming occurred should be based on the facts of the 
case. Often times, treatment providers or psychological assessors may simply state that the offender 
“groomed” or “deceived” the victim in a report to the court, without specifying their definitions or 
the facts on which their conclusions rest. Without supporting details in the report, ideally 
corroborated by other judicial or police documents or by admission from the juvenile, this is not 
sufficient evidence. 
 
Particularly with younger juveniles who offend sexually, the offending behavior occasionally is 
preceded by play activities. Play, itself, is not sufficient for this item to be counted as “Yes.” Instead, 
the facts of the case must be such that the play was engaged in with the intent of gaining access to or 
compliance from the victim. Generally, this will require a clear pattern of behavior to score “Yes” 
for deception based on play activities or else strong evidence of intent based on a single incident.  
 
The use of illegal drugs or alcohol to facilitate the commission of a sexual offense would be 
considered grooming for the purposes of this item. Specifically, if the juvenile provides the potential 
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victim with illegal drugs or alcohol in exchange for engaging in a sexual act, this item would be 
scored as “Yes.” Also, if the juvenile provides the potential victim with illegal drugs or alcohol or 
encourages the victim to use illegal drugs or alcohol for the purpose of getting the victim intoxicated 
to facilitate offending behavior, score this item as “Yes.” Score this item as “No” in cases where the 
victim’s use of illegal drugs or alcohol was not encouraged by the juvenile and the drugs or alcohol 
was provided by persons not engaged in the sexual offending behavior. 

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse of a child after persuading a victim 

that they had permission from a parent figure to engage in a sexual act.  Count as “Yes,” 
score as 1 (note that misrepresenting the statements of an authority figure is counted as 
deception for this item). 

 
2. A juvenile was charged with misdemeanor-level exposure after exposing his genitals to a 

younger child. The offense occurred after the perpetrator had invited the victim to play video 
games for several consecutive days in order to establish a relationship.  Count as “Yes,” 
score as 1 (note that the play behavior was used to establish a relationship which 
facilitated access to the victim). 

 
3. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse of a child after promising to give his 

victim some gift in exchange for engaging in sexual acts.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1 (note 
that bribery is counted as grooming for this item). 

 
4. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual assault after forcibly assaulting a stranger at 

a party.  Count as “No,” score as 0 (note that although this is clearly a forcible assault, 
there is no indication of deception or grooming). 

 
5. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual assault after forcibly assaulting a stranger at 

a party. Details of the police report indicate that the victim reported the offender told her his 
name was John Smith, but upon arrest the officer discovered the juvenile’s name to be James 
Johnson.  Count as “Yes,” Score as 1 (note that misrepresentation of juvenile’s identity is 
considered deception for this item). 

 
6. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse of a child. There are no details in 

police reports or other court documents regarding the events leading up to the sexual abuse 
incident. However, the juvenile’s court-ordered psychological assessment is found in the file, 
and in that report, the assessor reports that the juvenile “apparently groomed the victim.” It is 
unclear how the assessor made this determination.  Count as “No,” Score as 0 (note that 
descriptions of events are required to determine a point is awarded for this item. 
Judgments by others without supporting descriptions are not sufficient). 
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7. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual abuse of a child after digitally penetrating 
his younger sister. The sexual abuse occurred while the juvenile was babysitting his sister—
an apparently common arrangement in that family. Police reports note that the juvenile and 
victim were playing with toys prior to the abuse incident.  Count as “No,” Score as 0 (note 
that, from the description, the play acts did not appear intended primarily on gaining 
access to or compliance from the victim). 

 
8. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual assault for an offense occurring at a party. 

According to police reports, the juvenile and an accomplice were reported to have engaged 
the victim in a “drinking contest,” whereby the juvenile, accomplice, and victim took 
repeated rounds of shots of liquor. The report further specifies that after the victim became 
intoxicated the juvenile and accomplice brought the victim to a bedroom and sexually 
assaulted her.  Count as “Yes,” Score as 1 (note that providing or encouraging drug or 
alcohol use by the victim for the purposes of sexually offending is counted as grooming for 
this item). 

 
9. A juvenile was charged with felony-level sexual assault for an offense occurring at a party. 

According to police reports, the juvenile and accomplice sexually assaulted a female victim 
who was “passed out” in a bedroom where the party occurred. The report further specified 
that, though the victim and the juvenile were acquaintances, they had not interacted that night 
prior to the assault.  Count as “No,” Score as 0 (note that the juvenile did not provide or 
encourage the use of drugs or alcohol). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 7 
 
Status of the juvenile’s prior sexual offender specific treatment: 
 
 Never Entered ...................................................... 0 
 Entered and Had No Prior 
 Treatment Failures ............................................... 1 
 Entered and Failed At Least 
 One Prior Treatment ............................................ 2 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Determine if the juvenile had ever entered sexual offender specific treatment (SOT) voluntarily or 
had been judicially mandated to participate in such treatment prior to his current sexual offense 
adjudication. If the juvenile has no history of such treatment or mandate, score this item as “Never 
Entered.” To be scored as “Entered and Had No Prior Treatment Failures,” the juvenile must have 
entered all prior mandated or voluntary SOTs prior to his current sexual offense, and the juvenile 
must have not had any failures, as defined below, in such treatments. If the juvenile entered any 
number of prior treatments and failed at least one treatment attempt, score this item as “Entered and 
Failed At Least One Prior Treatment.” SOT may include individual or group outpatient treatment or 
individual or group inpatient treatment where the primary focus of the treatment was sexual 
offending desires or behaviors. Treatment failures include refusing to enter mandated treatment, 
quitting or absconding from treatment, being removed from treatment by staff, or committing a new 
sexual offense during the time the juvenile was attending treatment.  

 
Discussion 

 
Do not count evaluations as a SOT. 
 
Judicial mandates for SOT are not required for failures in such treatment to count for this item 
because voluntarily entered SOTs are also scored on this item. Obviously, a court mandate is 
required before there can be a refusal of treatment, but quitting or absconding from treatment, being 
terminated from treatment, and committing a new sexual offense while in treatment can occur in 
mandated or voluntary SOTs.  
 
Missing one or more treatment sessions does not count as treatment failure, unless those absences 
result in termination from treatment by staff. Also, problematic treatment behavior (e.g., 
oppositional behavior, defacing property) is not counted as a treatment failure, even if those 
behaviors result in the temporary removal from a treatment facility (e.g., detention), so long as those 
behaviors do not result in termination of treatment by staff. 
 
If a juvenile commits a detected sexual offense, including the most recent sexual offense, during the 
same time period in which he is attending a SOT, the new sexual offense is considered a treatment 
failure. 
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Transferring from one SOT to another SOT does not count as a treatment failure, unless that transfer 
resulted from the termination of treatment by staff of the first SOT. 

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile entered and completed outpatient SOT prior to the index sexual offense, and that 

was his only previous SOT.  Count as “Entered and Completed All Prior Treatments,” 
score as 1. 
 

2. A juvenile was mandated to participate in a SOT as part of a prior sexual offense 
adjudication order, but he refused to enter that treatment.  Count as “Entered and Failed At 
Least One Prior Treatment,” score as 2 (note refusals to enter mandated treatment are 
considered treatment failures). 

 
3. A juvenile was mandated to enter a residential SOT for a prior sexual offense adjudication. 

He did enter that treatment facility, but he absconded during the course of treatment.  Count 
as “Entered and Failed At Least One Prior Treatment,” score as 2 (note absconding from 
treatment, even if returned to treatment, count as a treatment failure). 

 
4. The file did not document any mandate for a prior SOT, but records indicate that the juvenile 

entered treatment for “problematic sexual behavior” two years prior to the current sexual 
offense. Records further indicate that his parents entered him in the treatment after he was 
found fondling his infant brother. He apparently completed that treatment.  Count as 
“Entered and No Treatment Failures,” score as 1 (note that this item does not require that 
the prior treatment be mandated as part of a prior sexual offense adjudication order). 

 
5. Case file records indicate that the juvenile was mandated to enter anger management 

treatment after a prior adjudication for an assault.  Count as “Never Entered,” score as 0 
(note that to count for this item treatments must focus primarily on sexual offending 
desires or behaviors). 

 
6. A juvenile entered a mandated residential SOT as part of a prior sexual offense adjudication. 

Treatment records indicate that during the course of treatment the juvenile was removed to a 
detention center for two days after the juvenile defaced the treatment facility, after which he 
was returned to the residential facility. He later completed that treatment.  Count as “Entered 
and No Treatment Failures,” score as 1 (note that temporary removals from treatment due 
to unruly behavior do not count as failures, so long as the behavior does not result in 
treatment termination by staff). 

 
7. A juvenile entered a mandated residential SOT as part of a prior sexual offense adjudication. 

During a leave from the treatment facility, he was arrested for a new sexual offense against 
his sibling. He was returned to the residential facility after detention, and he was ordered to 
complete his SOT at that facility as part of his sentence for this newest sexual offense. Count 
as “Entered and Failed At Least One Prior Treatment,” score as 2 (note that committing a 
new offense while attending a prior SOT constitutes a treatment failure). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 8 
 
Number of officially documented incidents of “hands-on” sexual abuse in which the 
juvenile was the victim: 
 
 None .................................................................... 0 
 One to Four .......................................................... 1 
 Five or More ......................................................... 2 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Count all officially documented “hands-on” sexual abuse incidents where the juvenile was the 
victim. Official documentation may include police, court, Child Protective Services (or state 
equivalent), or medical reports. Do not count self-reported victimization incidents that are not also 
officially documented. “Hands-on” sexual abuse includes direct contact between the perpetrator of 
the abuse and the juvenile (exhibitionism would be excluded). Such acts may include, forcing the 
juvenile to fondle the abuser, oral sex, forcing the juvenile to perform oral sex on the abuser or 
someone else, penetration, or forcing the juvenile to penetrate the abuser or another’s vagina or anus. 

 
Discussion 

 
Allegations of abuse made by parents or other relatives against another person (e.g., ex-partner) 
reported in psychological evaluations do not count as officially documented incidents of sexual 
abuse, unless supported either by other official documentation sources listed above or by a direct 
admission of the abuse by the perpetrator.  
 
Occasionally, the perpetrator of abuse will receive a charge for each victim of abuse. If the juvenile 
is a named victim in such circumstance and the charge associated with that juvenile is dropped as 
part of the perpetrator pleading guilty to lesser or fewer charges, consider the juvenile to have been 
the victim of abuse. A formal conviction is not required. 
 
Once hands-on sexual abuse is officially documented, include all credible evidence in the file, 
including statements from the juvenile, to determine the frequency of the abuse.  The number of 
incidents of abuse may occasionally be described in non-specific terms. In those instances, use the 
following guidelines for scoring purposes. A “couple” is considered two incidents. A “few” is 
considered three incidents. “Several” and “Multiple” are considered four incidents. Five or more 
incidents would be scored only when the condition is clearly satisfied (e.g., once a month for 5 
months or more, several times a week for two or more weeks, a couple of times per month for three 
or more months, etc.) 
 
When a range of frequencies of abuse is specified, choose the lowest frequency for this item. In the 
event that the number of abuse incidents is specified over a period of time (e.g., “times per month”), 
calculate the smallest frequency that satisfy the conditions of the statement. For example, if the 
official documentation specifies the juvenile was victimized “one or two times per month over a 
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three month period,” count four incidents for this item (i.e., one incident for first month, one incident 
for second month, two incidents for third month). 

 
 

Examples 
 

1. A juvenile was the victim of an officially charged, hands-on sexual offense by an adult 
relative. The perpetrator was charged with only one count, but police reports indicated that 
the abuse had occurred on two occasions.  Count as two incidents and score as 1. 
 

2. A juvenile was the victim of founded sexual abuse incident. A Child Protective Services 
report of the incidents indicated the perpetrator sodomized the juvenile on “several” 
occasions.  Count as four incidents and score as 1 (note that for non-specific language 
regarding frequency, “several” is considered four incidents). 

 
3. A juvenile was the victim of a single sexual abuse incident at a foster home that was 

officially reported to Child Protective Services. Though the incident was founded, it did not 
result in an official charge.  Count as one incident and score as 1 (note that criminal 
charges are not required for the event to be considered to be officially documented). 

 
4. A juvenile was the victim of an officially charged sexual abuse incident, in which his uncle 

exposed his genitalia to the juvenile on at least four occasions.  Count as “None,” score as 0 
(note that all offenses involved non-contact sexual abuse). 

 
5. A juvenile was the victim of sexual abuse incidents that were officially reported to Child 

Protective Services. In the final report, the abuse was reported to have occurred “four or five 
times over a one-month period.”  Count as four incidents and score as 1 (note that when a 
range of frequencies is specified, choose the least number of incidents that satisfies the 
statement). 

 
6. A juvenile was the victim of sexual abuse incidents that were officially reported to Child 

Protective Services. In the final report, the abuse was reported to have occurred “one or two 
times per month over a two month period.”  Count as three incidents and score as 1 (note 
that when a range of frequencies is specified over a period of time, choose the least 
number of incidents that satisfies the statement). 
 

7. A psychological evaluation submitted to the court after the juvenile was charged with a 
sexual offense indicated that the juvenile and his mother accused the juvenile’s father (and 
mother’s ex-husband) of sexually abusing the juvenile on three occasions. There are no other 
reports of this abuse in the file.  Count as “None,” score as 0 (note that self-reported sexual 
abuse is not counted for this item unless supported by other official documentation). 

 
8. A psychological evaluation submitted to the court indicated that the juvenile’s father 

admitted to the evaluator that he had sexually abused the juvenile by fondling him when the 
juvenile was an infant. This event was never reported to police or child protective services.  
Count as one incident and score as 1 (note that an admission of sexual abuse by the 
perpetrator of the abuse is sufficient for this item). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 9 
 
Number of officially documented incidents of physical abuse in which the juvenile 
was the victim: 
 
 None .................................................................... 0 
 One to Four .......................................................... 1 
 Five or More ......................................................... 2 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Count all officially documented physical abuse incidents where the juvenile sexual offender was the 
victim. Official documentation may include police, court, Child Protective Services (or state 
equivalent), or medical reports. Do not include self-reported victimization incidents that are not 
officially documented. Physical abuse necessarily involves direct contact with the victim, but the 
severity of injury sustained by the juvenile is irrelevant. 

 
Discussion 

 
Like Item 8, allegations of abuse made by parents or other relatives against another person (e.g., ex-
partner) reported in psychological evaluations do not count as officially documented incidents of 
physical abuse, unless supported either by other official documentation sources listed above or by a 
direct admission of the abuse by the perpetrator.  
Occasionally, the perpetrator of abuse will receive a charge for each victim of abuse. If the juvenile 
is a named victim in such circumstance and the charge associated with that juvenile is dropped as 
part of the perpetrator pleading guilty to lesser or fewer charges, consider the juvenile to have been 
the victim of abuse. 
 
Once it is determined that physical abuse has been officially documented, use all credible evidence 
in the file, including the juvenile’s statements, to determine the frequency of abuse.  The number of 
incidents of abuse may occasionally be described in non-specific terms. In those instances, use the 
following guidelines for scoring purposes. A “couple” is considered two incidents. A “few” is 
considered three incidents. “Several” and “Multiple” are considered four incidents.  
 
When a range of frequencies of abuse is specified, choose the lowest frequency for this item. 
 
In the event that the number of abuse incidents is specified over a period of time (e.g., “times per 
month”), calculate the smallest frequency that satisfy the conditions of the statement. For example, if 
the official documentation specifies the juvenile was victimized “one or two times per month over a 
three month period,” count four incidents for this item (i.e., one incident for first month, one incident 
for second month, two incidents for third month). 
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Examples 

 
1. A juvenile was the victim of physical abuse committed by his father for which the father was 

officially charged. Though the father was charged with only one count, a police report 
indicated that the abuse had occurred on “multiple occasions” and had resulted on several 
bruises to the juvenile’s back and arms.  Count as four incidents and score as 1 (for non-
specific language regarding frequency, “multiple” is considered four incidents). 
 

2. A juvenile was the victim of several founded physical abuse incidents. A Child Protective 
Services report of the incidents indicated that the juvenile’s mother had used a leather belt to 
severely punish her child on “four or five occasions.”  Count as four incidents and score as 
1 (note that when a range of frequencies is specified, choose the least number of incidents 
that satisfies the statement). 

 
3. A juvenile was the victim of physical abuse incidents that were officially reported to Child 

Protective Services. In the final report, the abuse was reported to have occurred “one or two 
times per month over a two month period.”  Count as three incidents and score as 1 (note 
that when a range of frequencies is specified over a period of time, choose the least 
number of incidents that satisfies the statement). 
 

4. A juvenile was the victim of a single physical abuse incident perpetrated at a foster home that 
was officially reported to Child Protective Services. Though the incident was founded, it did 
not result in an official charge.  Count as one incident and score as 1 (note that criminal 
charges are not required for the event to be considered to be officially documented). 

 
5. There is no mention of child abuse anywhere in the file.  Count as no incidents and score as 

0. 
 

6. Although the juvenile alleged that physical abuse occurred, such abuse was not documented 
through official reports in the file.  Count as no incidents and score as 0 (note that self-
reported physical abuse is not counted for this item unless supported by other official 
documentation). 
 

7. A Child Protective Services report in file confirms that the juvenile was physically abused 
weekly for two months.  Count as 8 incidents and score as 2 (note that weekly would be 
once a week for 8 weeks). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 10 
 
Does the juvenile have a history of special education placement? 
 
 No ........................................................................ 0 
 Yes ....................................................................... 1 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Score “Yes” if the juvenile was ever officially placed in a special education program. Special 
education placement must be provided by the school system and may include assistance for 
educational, mental, or learning disabilities, or for emotional or behavioral disorders, or for reasons 
unknown. 

 
Discussion 

 
Do not include as evidence of special education placement any tutoring or special assistance sought 
by the juvenile or his family outside of the school system. Special education in the school system 
must be clearly documented, though the exact reason may be unspecified. 
 
Do not count English as a Second Language (ESL) classes as special education. 

 
Examples 

 
1. In a pre-disposition report delivered to the court, a case officer reported that the juvenile has 

a history of official placement in a special education classroom for students with learning 
disabilities involving reading. She stated this information was gained through an interview 
with school officials.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1. 
 

2. In a letter submitted to the court by school officials, the principal of the school stated that the 
juvenile received official special education assistance for one hour per day as a result of a 
mathematical learning disability.  Count as “Yes,” score as 1. 

 
3. In an Individual Education Plan found in the case file, the juvenile was classified as 

“Behaviorally Disordered.”  Count as “Yes,” score as 1. 
 

4. In a psychological assessment, the psychologist reported that the juvenile received additional 
tutoring at home from an external agency. There is no evidence of special education 
placement at school.  Count as “No,” score as 0 (note that educational assistance that is 
not school sponsored is not counted for this item). 

 
5. Reports in the case file from the juvenile’s school indicate he was receiving ESL assistance.  

Count as “No,” score as 0 (note that ESL classes or coursework is not counted for this 
item). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 11 
 
Number of education time periods with school discipline problems (elementary 
school, middle school/junior high school, high school): 
 
 None or One ........................................................ 0 
 Two ...................................................................... 1 
 Three .................................................................... 2 
 

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Count the number of education time periods that the juvenile received any number of school 
disciplines for problematic behavior, as documented in the case file. The three educational time 
periods include elementary school, middle school or junior high, and high school. Behaviors that 
may have resulted in formal school discipline include non-sexual violence, sexual aggression, 
property offenses, oppositional behavior, verbal harassment, truancy, and other significant behavior 
problems noted but not specified. 
 
Formal school discipline must include one of the following: removal from an in-session classroom 
(e.g., sent to see the principal, suspension), after- or in-school detention, or prohibition from 
participating in school activities (e.g., not allowed to attend a field trip). 

 
Discussion 

 
If a juvenile attends education services while living in a residential treatment or long-term detention 
facility, count only behavior problems occurring while in the educational setting (i.e., classroom), as 
opposed to the treatment or residential settings. Count these problems for the grade equivalent to the 
grade the juvenile would have attended, if he was attending school in the community. 
 
School districts vary in the grade levels assigned to junior high school and/or middle school. Define 
the education time periods as they are defined by the school district (specified in school reports) in 
which the juvenile resides. If that information is not available and cannot be inferred from 
educational or treatment records in the case file, use the following definitions. Elementary school 
includes kindergarten through fifth grade. Middle school includes from sixth grade through eighth 
grade. High includes ninth grade through completion (e.g., graduation or dropping out). 

 
Examples 

 
1. In a probation report, the probation officer reported that the juvenile had been suspended 

from high school for participating in a physical assault on another student. In a separate 
report of education progress provided to the court, a school attendance official reported that 
the juvenile was frequently truant in middle school and that he received detention for these 
absences.  Count two time periods with disciplines, score as 1 (note that official school 
records are not required to score this item). 
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2. In an education summary report, a school official reported that the juvenile had been sent to 
the principal’s office after verbally harassing another student during his fifth-grade year. The 
report further specified the juvenile had been given detention for cheating on an exam in the 
eighth grade. The report did not specify which education time period classifications are used 
in that school district. Count as two time periods with a discipline, score as 1 (note that 
when education time period classifications are not specified, consider fifth grade as 
elementary school and sixth through eighth grade as middle school). 

 
3. In a psychological assessment report, a psychiatrist reported communicating with school 

officials with regard to behavior problems the juvenile had exhibited over the course of his 
schooling. The psychiatrist reported that school officials had disclosed that the juvenile had 
pervasive oppositional problems that resulted in frequent disciplinary problems starting in the 
second grade and continuing to the present. At the time of the report, the juvenile was in the 
eleventh grade.  Count as three time periods with disciplines, score as 2 (note that official 
school records are not required to score this item). 

 
4. In the case file, nothing was mentioned about the juvenile’s school performance or behavior 

problems.  Count as no time periods with disciplines, score as 0. 
 

5. In an educational summary report, a school official reported the juvenile had a record of two 
suspensions for fighting while in the seventh grade. A more recent report to the court from a 
residential treatment facility where the juvenile was attending school and therapy indicated 
that the juvenile was disciplined for fighting with another resident. The fight occurred in the 
dining area of their residence. The report further indicated that the juvenile’s educational 
performance was “average” with no problems noted.  Count as one time period, score as 0 
(note that for disciplines to count from a residential treatment facility, the behavior 
problem must occur in the classroom of that facility). 
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JSORRAT-II: Item 12 
 
Number of adjudications for non-sexual offenses prior to the most recent (index) 
sexual offense adjudication: 
 
 None or One ........................................................ 0 
 Two or More ......................................................... 1 
  

 
Scoring Criteria 

 
Count all non-sexual offenses for which the juvenile was adjudicated guilty prior to the juvenile’s 
current (index) sexual offense adjudications. Non-sexual criminal offense include status offenses 
(e.g., possession of alcohol), misdemeanor-level and felony-level offenses that are not sexual 
offenses by statute. 

 
Discussion 

 
Occasionally, non-sexual charges will be adjudicated on the same date as the index sexual offense. 
When this occurs, do not count these non-sexual adjudications for this item.  

 
Examples 

 
1. A juvenile had one petty theft adjudication that occurred six months prior to his current 

sexual offense adjudication.  Count as one, score as 0. 
 

2. A juvenile was adjudicated for two felony-level assault charges one year prior to his current 
sexual offense adjudication.  Count as two, score as 1. 

 
3. A juvenile was adjudicated for felony-level assault on the same day as his index sexual 

offense charge. He has two prior sexual offense adjudications, but no other non-sexual 
adjudications.  Count as none, score as 0 (note that non-sexual offense adjudications that 
occur on the same date as the index sexual offense adjudication are not counted for this 
item). 

 
4. The only adjudications that the juvenile has on his record are for sexual offenses.  Count as 

none, score as 0. 
 

 
 


