
 

Crematory Operator Permit (CROP) 
You will be required to submit an application, fee, and 2 documents: 
1.   Crematory Operator Cer�fica�on Program cer�ficate 
       AND 
2.   2-hour Ohio Crematory Laws and Rules cer�ficate of comple�on 

 

Provided as a courtesy from the OBEFD to help you track your continuing education requirements for Ohio 

 

CE TRACKING LOG             1-1-2023 through 12-31-2024 
Licensee Name ____________________________________________________ 

CROP Permit # _________________________ 

DOCUMENT 1 
        Crematory Operator CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 
 
Initial Certification is required to qualify for a  
state-issued CROP Permit 
 
- Initial Certification or re-certification can also be used  
  for renewal of a CROP Permit, if unexpired 
- 6 – 8 hour program, certificate is valid for 5 years, 
  check your expiration date 
 
- Approved providers: 
    CANA – Cremation Association of North America 
    ICCFA – International Cemetery, Cremation & 
                        Funeral Services Association 
     NFDA – National Funeral Directors Association 
     Matthews Cremation Division 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Certificate Issuance Date: _____________________________ Certificate Expiration Date: _____________________________ 

Total # of CE Hours: __________                           Program Type:                In Person                    Webinar                    Online 

Did this course include 2 hours of Laws & Rules specific to crematory operation in Ohio? Yes  No 

If yes, submit this same certificate for DOCUMENT 1 and DOCUMENT 2. If no, enter information for Document 2 below. 

 

 

 

 

OR 
 
        Crematory Operator REFRESHER COURSE 
 
Must already have Initial Certification in order to use 
Refresher Course for renewal of a CROP Permit 
 
- consists of 2 components: 
 
Component #1, good for 5 years 
    1. Best Practices for Crematory Operators, 2 hrs 
Component #2, good for 1 compliance period         
    2. Ohio Crematory Laws & Rules, 2 hrs 
    
- Approved provider: 
 OFDA – Ohio Funeral Directors Association 
 
NOTE: Contact OFDA if you have acquired Ohio  
Crematory Laws and Rules through another Provider,  
but still need the Best Practices component. 
 
 
 
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DOCUMENT 2 
          2-hours LAWS & RULES Specific to Crematory Opera�on in Ohio 

          (must be taken once per compliance period) 
 

Name of Program Provider: __________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Title: _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Date: _______________________________________   

Total # of CE Hours: __________                              Program Type:                In Person                    Webinar                    Online 

 

 
DO NOT SUBMIT A COPY OF YOUR  

STATE-ISSUED CREMATORY OPERATOR 
PERMIT (CROP) for RENEWAL 

 

OBEFD019     8/2024 


