

2024 RENEWAL INFORMATION

Renewal Begins 9-1-2024, Closes 12-31-2024

All OBEFD licenses and permits are due to renew!

Late Fees will apply after 12-31-2024

When will the renewal period begin and end?

September 1, 2024 through December 31, 2024

The RENEW option in eLicense will only be available after renewal period begins

What should I do to prepare for renewal?

Review the list of State of Ohio Board Approved CE programs on our website at: www.funeral.ohio.gov / Continuing Education

Make sure all Continuing Education is complete before you submit Renewal Applications. You will be attesting that you have or will have all your required CE by the end of the compliance period for Funeral Director and/or Embalmer licenses.

(See CE Requirements for Renewal, next page)

Where do I renew?

Log in to your eLicense account at www.elicense.ohio.gov

What if I forgot my eLicense login?

You can contact the eLicense help desk at 614-644-6625

How do I start the process?

- From your eLicense Dashboard, select the tile of the first license you want to renew
- On the right, select OPTIONS, RENEW. This will start your Renewal Application
- Complete the application, then select SUBMIT
- If you have multiple licenses, you will need to renew each license individually
- You can navigate back to the Dashboard before checking out by selecting the DASHBOARD tab at the top.
- Select OPTIONS, RENEW for the next license you want to renew
- Once all Renewal Applications are complete and have been submitted, you may go to your CART to pay

What if I only see a few of my licenses listed?

Go to your Dashboard and click the link below the "Your Licenses" title that says "View all licenses", or contact the Board via email at info@funeral.ohio.gov

How do I make a payment?

All payments are made through eLicense using a major credit card or Electronic Check. No paper checks.

Can I pay for more than 1 license at a time?

Yes, you can pay for up to 12 licenses at a time under the same licensee account.

My apprenticeship(s) ended and I received my Initial License(s) during this compliance period. Do I need to renew?

Yes. If you received your initial license(s) as a Funeral Director and/or Embalmer during the current compliance period you will be required to renew your license(s). Your CE requirements will commence on January 1st of the NEXT 2-year compliance period following receipt of your initial license.

This means that if you completed your apprenticeship during the 2023-2024 compliance period, you will be required to renew your license(s) by 12-31-2024, and you will begin earning CE starting 1-1-2025.



CE Requirements for Renewal

What CE do I need for renewal of my Funeral Director and/or Embalmer license?

18 TOTAL Continuing Education hours. You will attest that you are in compliance with the requirements.

6 hours must be: In Person, face to face, and open to all licensees

Webinars ARE NOT considered In Person hours

12 hours can be: In Person, Webinars, or Online hours (open to all licensees, or private)

What is the breakdown of the Required Topics?

Of the 18 total hours, 4 shall be in the following required categories:

1 hour of Ethics, 1 hour of Preneed Ethics Principles, 2 hours of Laws & Rules

Can I get credit for insurance hours?

Yes. The Board allows four hours of credit for licensees who submit a copy of the "licensee continuing education transcript" from the Ohio Department of Insurance evidencing satisfactory completion of the continuing education requirements for issuance or renewal of an insurance license.

What documents will I need to upload for renewal of my Crematory Operator Permit?

You will be required to upload pdf copies of the following two documents:

1. an active, unexpired **Certification certificate of completion** (expires 5 years from the date you completed the program) (issued by ICCFA, CANA, NFDA, Matthews)

AND

You are responsible for checking your certificates for expiration dates

2. evidence of 2-hrs Ohio Crematory Laws and Rules obtained during the current compliance period

NOTE: After your initial Certification has expired (5-yr certificate of completion), you are eligible to take a Crematory Operator Permit Refresher Course to fulfill the requirement for maintaining your Crematory Operator Permit (CROP). The Refresher Course consists of two, 2-hr components, for a total of 4 hours. Part A and Part B do not have to be taken at the same time or by the same Provider.

Refresher Course Part A: (Does not qualify for Initial CROP, only renewal)

Best Practices for Crematory Operators, 2-hrs (expires 5 years from the date you completed the program) (Upload a pdf copy of this certificate as your first document)

Refresher Course Part B:

Ohio Crematory Laws and Rules, 2-hrs (must take once every 2-yr compliance period)

(Upload a pdf copy of this certificate as your second document)

The 2-hr Ohio Crematory Laws and Rules can also count toward your 2-hours Laws and Rules Required Topic hours for your Funeral Director and/or Embalmer license(s). The Certification program can also count toward your FD and/or EMB CE hours.

What are the current license renewal fees?

Funeral Director	\$200	Funeral Home	\$400
Embalmer	\$200	Crematory Facility	\$400
Courtesy Card Permit (Funeral Director)	\$200	Embalming Facility	\$400
Crematory Operator Permit	\$150		

^{*}Each license will incur an eLicense System Transaction Fee of \$3.50